Fall and Winter Garden Update!

in #garden7 years ago

Garden In Fall


IMG_20170917_191439656.jpg
This asparagus is jammin'!

By far, my biggest success of the year in the garden has been my asparagus beds! These were planted this spring and have been acting like they have been here forever! Asparagus is a perennial so that is a really great beginning! To plant 300 crowns and have this healthy of a start means I will HAVE to market some to my chef friends come spring!


We planted a late summer seeding of bush beans and they are producing plenty of green beans for us to feast on. They have been a great side dish for many of our dinners. My kids love them with lots of garlic! If we can stop eating them long enough to get a few jars of fermented dilly beans made we will be eating on them all winter!

IMG_20170917_183719078.jpg


The okra was planted very late as well but as you can see that is not stopping them from popping out fruit left and right! Next year I want to plant much earlier and at least twice as much so I can put up some pickled okra. We are eating it fresh now but might cut some medallions and freeze for future fried okra.

IMG_20170917_183807185_HDR.jpg


I'm starting to notice a pattern here, our late planting of sweet potatoes are vining all over! Although it appears something has eaten holes all over the leaves, the root is where we want all the energy to be anyway so I'm not too worried. I didn't see any active pest so I think whatever did it has moved on now and they are still growing fast!

IMG_20170917_183841019.jpg


This is just one branch of the huge pepper plant that must have 100 fruit growing on it now! They are a lemon pepper with a bright yellow color when ripe. The heat in this little pepper is quite intense but the flavor is like nothing else. It is sweet and citrusy under all the heat, adding a nice flavor profile to just about anything!

IMG_20170917_184041309.jpg


Probably my second best accomplishment in this years garden would have to be the ginger. It has grown so much and spread its sweet and spicy roots all through where I planted filling in all the gaps. My little helpers in the background are fighting over who gets to water in all the new plants we just seeded for our fall/winter garden.

IMG_20170917_183859982.jpg


Winter Sowing


Miss Duck comes to investigate what all the commotion is about as we sow our winter seeds and water them in real good with some help from my two little boys. Gardening is definitely a family affair on this homestead. Even the animals want to help, she is our supervisor.

IMG_20170917_185112310.jpg


So, in these two and a half beds we prepared, we are planting a variety of root and leaf crops. I planted cosmic red carrots, radish, mixed beets (heavy on the Golden Beets, my favorite), swiss chard, lettuce mix, turnips, rutabagas, kale, collards, onions, and some orange carrots at the back. I hope everything germinates and does well because this will feed us all winter if I use frost fabric to cover during our below freezing periods.

IMG_20170917_183728537.jpg


After only two days I discovered a fun surprise when I was watering it in again! The kale and radish had already begun germinating! It is so fun to see new life coming up out of the soil and knowing it will sustain our life through the winter months.

IMG_20170917_190108322.jpg


If you are interested in how to grow your own vegetables be sure to read my most recent piece here...
https://steemit.com/gardening/@wholesomeroots/self-sustaining-vegetable-garden-how-you-can-do-it-too


Here is a vlog from our YouTube channel from the day we planted our fall seeds!


Thank you for reading and watching Wholesome Roots!


wholesomerootsfarmstead.jpg

Please Upvote, Resteem, and Reply down below! Thank you!


Find Us ALL Over!
E-mail [email protected]
YouTube
Facebook
Steemit
Instagram
Patreon
Twitter
Blog
Pinterest
Google+
Mangosteem
Slack SteemitHomesteaders
Homesteading on Steemit
The Unmentionables!


Sort:  

My garden looks the same. Looks like slugs got some of your plants.

I have not had a slug problem before buit I'll keep an eye out now!

The gardens are almost dead here. Fall planting need to be been done in mid August to get anything before the weather gets bad. I am planning more for next spring. Your garden has inspired me.

I like to plant in August for a head start but we were behind and our first frost is much later than most.

The asparagus beds are awesome! I need to try and grow some here. I am not sure how they would grow here in the tropics. But at a going price of $20-$25 per pound in the markets, I am willing to try!

Always worth trying!

I tried asparagus for the first time this year. Put in 30 crowns and they all came up well. Now just have to be patient and wait another year or two before harvesting.

Also tried sweet potatoes for the first time but not sure they will do much - I don't think we have a long / hot enough season here in Wales. Will try them earlier in the polytunnel next year.

While waiting two years to harvest can be difficult, it is so worth it! I learned from a farmer friend that it is actually more accurate to judge the plant on height rather than age. Which makes sense when you think of how a trees root system is as big as their crown.
We will have small ones with how late we planted but it will still be yummy!

Seeing those tiny green sprouts never gets old! Sounds like you've got a great variety planned. It's sure to do well with the crew that is making it happen!

I can't wait to eat all the green leafy veggies! my body craves seasonal food!

So jealous of your large patch, wishing you a great fall harvest.

I would share if you were my neighbor!

Oh baby am I ever jealous of that asparagus! I haven't gotten a patch in yet and it takes so long for it to establish I think I may focus on other root crops this season!

~ Kevin

Plant perrenials NOW! Lol! They take a long time but they take even longer if you haven't planted them yet!

I won't live here long enough to see them grow :(

I absolutely love perennial vegetables. The gifts that keep on giving! I'm so impressed with your asparagus. It took longer for mine to build up steam, haha.

Yes! They work well with our permaculture ways! That's punny, I like what you did there! Lol!

Haha, I couldn't help it. I'm a goober.

Congratulations @wholesomeroots! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Your garden is great! And i like your managing duck. :)

She is so bossy! Always a critique! LOL

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63592.23
ETH 2551.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75