Growing food from scraps fall updatesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #garden5 years ago (edited)

I harvested the Sweet Potatoes that I placed in the ground over six months ago. At the end of the frost in April I placed one spud in the ground. Along with a bunch of Yukon golds. The Yellow Potatoes were ready to harvest in about 60 days but the Sweet Potatoes take much longer. Nearly the whole growing season.

Even though they took a long time to grow the yield was quite impressive. I got over ten pounds of Sweet Potato.

This one I'm holding accounts for about half of the weight of everything I collected from the ground. Its huge, weighing in at over five pounds.

We got so many, of all different sizes. I gave my friend the second biggest. And the one I'm holding has lasted me over a week in food.

They have a nice yellow orange color to them and the taste is the freshest I can get. I've made some Sweet Potato fries along with some Thai dessert using coconut milk and some slices of my Sweet Potatoes.

I'm amazed how big this one grew. The shoots on it were the size of a vine. And even with our drought we got some great sized potatoes. Must be me using my AC condensation water.

Looks like some critters got into the beds and chewed on them a little. No problem I just cut off those areas of the Potato.

I cut up the biggest Sweet Potato, did my best to cut it into slices. Amazed how many it made, it was hard work cutting through that massive Sweet potato. But well worth it.

We waited as long as we could to harvest the Sweet Potatoes. Once the frosts showed up in early November it was time to see what we grew. I pulled up all the vines and quickly found spuds growing in the hay and dirt. I was expecting maybe double or triple. But we got close to ten times what we put in the ground.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @hafizullah on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, with each individual living their best life, and being responsible for their own well being. #innerblocks Check it out at @innerblocks for the latest information and community updates, or to show your support via delegation.

@innerblocks thanks alot for the curation

Posted using Partiko Android

Lovely spud :P
My neighbor grew sweet potatoes and he just water it everyday plus it gets full sunshine too. The result was really big sweet potato spuds just like what you are holding there @solominer :D they just needed sandy soil, rich soil, ample water, and lots of sunshine.
The tender leaves are also delicious and very nutritious too. :P

@cryptopie thanks alot, yeah they are very low maintenance and just seemed happy with what I gave them. I was wondering if my huge potato was normal but sounds like it is from your experience.

I did not know the leaves are edible. I'll save them next season and give that a try. Appreicate the tip.

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh wow, lovely spud👌🙏

Posted using Partiko Android

@clitadias thanks much, its amazing.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sure is amazing 👌

Congratulations!

This post has been upvoted as @SteemitBD curation support. Steemit Bangladesh is the first youth-run community organization from Bangladesh to empower youths on steemit. You can also check our Social Business Service @SocialBot to get a profitable offer for you.


Curated by @Rehan12

Join us on Discord
steemitf.pngtwitterf.pngyoutubef.pngfacebookf.pnginstaf.pngdiscordf.png

A Youth Run Community Organization from Bangladesh
50SP100SP200SP500SP1000SP2000SP5000SP10000SP

@steemitbd and @rehan12 thanks alot for the curation

Posted using Partiko Android

My girls like those sweet potato fries! PYPT pimpin!

@alliedforces curate

You got some love from a member of @thealliance family!
Keep up the great work!
The #spreadlovenotwar curation campaign is under the guidance of witnesses @enginewitty and @untersatz.
Current VP: 86.67%

@enginewitty oh nice.. if I still have them I can bring some up when we meet up

Thanks alot for the curation as well

Posted using Partiko Android

WOW what a spud!

Recently, my veggies have discovered Sweet Potato humus and are loving it so much. Maybe you should try and make some? https://cookieandkate.com/spicy-sweet-potato-hummus/

I was surprised to look and see I had not followed you yet. Fixed that right quick!

Awesome spudding and pimpin on #pypt!

@zekepickleman thanks alot it sure is huge. I checked out that article and it's interesting, they still use a little chickpea but mostly sweet potato. I'll give that a try. Thanks for the tip.

Posted using Partiko Android

Maravilloso ty jardin

Posted using Partiko Android

@wendyth16 thanks alot it sure has been a fun garden to grow new plants in.

Posted using Partiko Android

I saw ot. Love it

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi, @solominer!

You just got a 7.74% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hi @solominer, your post has been upvoted by @bdcommunity courtesy of @hafizullah!


Support us by setting us as your witness proxy or delegating STEEM POWER.

20 SP50 SP100 SP200 SP300 SP500 SP1000 SP

JOIN US ON

@bdcommunity nice.. thanks alot

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @solominer!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.634 which ranks you at #6086 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 84 contributions, your post is ranked at #32.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66360.61
ETH 3420.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63