Wrapping up the gardening year and CHIPMUNKS, cute or destructive?

in #garden7 years ago

It’s that time of year when the first frost is almost here and it’s time to officially shutdown the garden. I still have a couple of spaghetti squashes still on the vine and tomatoes, some green…some almost ripe. In looking back and thinking on this past year and what I will be doing for next year I already know I will be growing more as well as trying to grow a few things that I have not grown before. I also have pest problem as well to deal with, more on that below. However, before we get to that here are a few pictures I had from this year.

Squash Blossom

Wisteria Vine

Garden Spider (First time seeing one in person)

Achocha Fat Baby Cucumber (Seeds from @mericanhomestead)

Red Potatoes grown in cinder blocks. For more info about that see my previous post about it. https://steemit.com/gardening/@simms50/cinder-block-potatoes

I can’t help but think just how much produce I would have had this year if the chipmunk population would have moved out of my neighborhood! Early in the spring they did a good job of digging up seeds, destroying plants and even later in the year taking bites out of food that I was supposed to eat. These pesky chipmunks started to become more and more of a problem the last few years. A few years ago they were not a problem probably because there were cats roaming the neighborhood, but I have not seen a cat in a long while…well for at least a couple of years…hence the chipmunk issue.

So I ask you…are they cute or a nuisance?? The answer is yes to both but for the sake of my plants over the past 2 years I have started the “chipmunk relocation program”. Over the past 2 years I have relocated 20 of them so far and I say so far because I have seen more of them in my backyard. I have stopped for the year but you can be sure that I will be catching them again in the spring! I took pictures of them all, mainly so I could keep count on how many I caught. Below is a few of the pictures.

What critters do you have the most problem with where you are? Let me know below!

Thanks for stopping by!
1-Small.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations! In addition to the vote from @randowhale, you also received a vote from @randowhaletrail!

OMGoodness! He looks so cute in the trap!

And you grew your potatoes in cinder blocks? I have heard of people attempting this but have never seen the end result and harvest! That's awesome!

Only critters I have issues with have been stray cats wanting my catnip and lemon balm... really gets me upset!

Yes they are cute but boy are they destructive! Just last night I checked on the garlic that I planted only to find that 2 of them were dug up and were gone! Now I didn't see them do it but from past experience I am pretty sure a chipmunk had done it!!!

Did you check out the post on the cinder block potatoes? I have been growing them in them for a couple of years now, they need constant watering so having a rain barrel helps with that!

For me I would welcome some stray cats to help with the chipmunk population...but I get it when something is digging or getting into something you are trying to grow it sure can be frustrating!

I had a horrible time with rabbits this year. Need a little population control. Chipmunks would be a mess to deal with geez. Good luck brother

Have plenty of rabbits but they have not been an issue, they have been staying away from my plants! Good luck to you as well!

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 2.0% @minnowbooster upgoat, thanks to @simms50
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @simms50 to be original material and upvoted(2%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Nice post you need to keep up this good work. You should check out this service they are really great

WhaleBoostUp Resteem and Upvote Service / www.whaleboostup.ml

This post has received a 1.11 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @simms50. Send at least 1 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

This post has received a 31.14 % upvote from @upgoater thanks to: @simms50.

This wonderful post has received a bellyrub 0.46 % upvote from @bellyrub.

We lost all our feral cats last year about 30 of them just vanished, no trace and now I am seeing rats, voles, and snakes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63635.72
ETH 2597.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.91