Some Garden and Off Grid Cooking Randomness

in #garden7 years ago

DSCN3313.JPG

Though this time of year is so incredibly busy, it certainly has its many rewards. I see each season with its own blessings and harvesting the hard earned treasures from my own garden are certainly one of those summer benefits. Seen above are a couple of my Anaheim peppers - though I prefer hot peppers, these are one of the few peppers that will actually grow for me so I grow them and enjoy them any way I can!

DSCN3324.JPG

Filled my first quart jar for 2017 with my dried lavender flowers, though I still have jars from the previous two years to work through, as I find more uses for these wonderful flowers, it is important I stay ahead. I use them in my soaps, hair wash vinegar, and more.

DSCN3327.JPG

The marshmallows keep getting taller - I have one well over 8 feet now - with more and more lovely flowers popping out all over. I will be doing a post about these soon; why I grow them and their many medicinal benefits.

DSCN3321.JPG

Started another tiny batch of yeast bread today using my homemade fermentation starter, this time I am making it will 100% hand milled (by me) organic whole wheat flour. Hope it turns out as good as my previous batch that you can read about along with my background story in bread making here: My Bread Story

DSCN3325.JPG

Since it was cloudy this morning, I started my day making our coffee and breakfast on the Rocket Stove and put on a pot of bone broth.

DSCN3336.JPG

Now that the sun is out, I have moved the bone broth to the rocket stove. The pups are often intrigued by the smells emanating from it!

If you are interested in our solar oven, you can check that out here: SOLAVORE
The rocket stove you can find right here: STOVETEC

Happy Sunday everyone and I hope it is lovely for you! ~Heidi

Contact
Email: [email protected]
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/RainCountryHomestead/
Hand Crafted Goods: https://www.facebook.com/heidiscrochetedart/

RainCountry1.JPG

Sort:  

Very cool. Have a great week ahead!

Your lavender looks so pretty in the jar! It's the great days of summer and it looks like you are enjoying them to the max! :D

Heidi, excellent post as always! Thanks for the info...

Thank you! :D

Oh I love fresh lavender blooms with coriander on chicken breasts cooked in a pat of butter, it gives them such a good flavor!

Have you tried cooking with lavender leaves? They are so good!

Yes I use them with coriander on chicken breast, sugar cookies and lavender. Super yummy! Lovely Sunday to you dear friend :)

at first glance at your bread I thought some kind of different wall nut or oyster then the smoothest brain ever :P great shots nice share thank you

I love anaheim peppers :)

We are vegetarians and my wife love to plant all sorts of veggies. It also keeps you staying healthy. Keep growing...

Wow nice vegetables, flowers pics @raincountry

Very nice. Good job!

Looks awesome!

I planted out all my medicinal herbs, flowers and and vegetables today.
Thank you for all your wonderful info. on medicinal herbs.
I sowed marshmallow, feverfew, catnip, plantain and lemon balm
this morning thinking of you.

I heat up a singlr portion of chicken and veggie soup in a pint jar in my solar oven while I work in the garden.
HHuuummmm...maybe I should crack an egg into the chicken soup
and let it poach in the hot soup.
I planted sugar baby watermelons so I can make watermelon and lime basil salsa this summer which is just around the corner.
Anyway, I'm rambling.

Have a wonderul day.
Blessings,
~D.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 65012.58
ETH 3101.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86