Rhubarb!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #garden7 years ago

DSCN2770.JPG

The main reason I grow rhubarb at all is for its nutrient value. Being high in vitamin C, vitamin K, and calcium make it an important food to grow. Though it is great in pies such as strawberry-rhubarb, blueberry-rhubarb, or peach-rhubarb, makes a very tasty peach rhubarb syrup, and more, it just seems the tastiest way to consume it is in something high in sugar and we rarely eat sweets anymore.

On top of that, the rhubarb is always ready long before all the other fruits are so in order to not let it go to waste, my favorite thing to do is to chop it up and store it in pint size mason jars in the freezer. That way I can pull out a jar whenever I am ready to make up some syrup, jam, a pie, or even to add to Patrick's creamsicles.

DSCN2775.JPG

I know many like to dehydrate it and I have done that in the past. I still have several jars of dehydrated rhubarb from three years ago. I simply was not real impressed with it. However, it is good to add to herbal teas in the winter to get that extra boost of vitamin C when we need it. It does make the tea a bit tart though!

Since rhubarb is not a huge priority here in our small area, I currently only have one plant and that is plenty. I do I have to say, I am quite pleased with how healthy the stalks look this year, I do not think they have been quite this big in previous years. Just those two alone were enough to fill up two pint jars.

DSCN2780.JPG

Hope you all are having a beautiful day and thanks for dropping by! ~Heidi

Sort:  

rhubarb in our country is uses for a child when a child is angry
People prepared a rhubarb tea and give it to child who dislike the bitter flavor
For this reason when you know a angry person you say hey hellow
This person need some rhubarb and i never imagine that this plant have
A lot of vitamins and would be good for health thanks a lot.
I will find this plants in our country for traslate to my parents land.

You can also make a rhubarb sauce. Put it on vanilla ice cream. Try it, you'll like it. :-)
I use my rhubarb mostly for making wine. I have 2 rather large plants and nobody else wants any, so I have to do something with it, right?

Right! I have made all those before too, I do not drink anymore so I stopped making wines but I will still use the rhubarb in making syrups (which are more like a sauce as I make them very thick) and pies. I have made many other varieties of syrups using rhubarb and they always turn out great. I would just like to find something that could be done with it that does not always have to involve sugar. At anyrate, I have to wait until I either get my hands on a good amount of organic peaches for a decent price (not easy to find around here) or wait until I have enough ripe blueberries ...wait...duh, I still have tons of blueberries from last year in the freezer. I guess I do not have to wait to make and can up more syrups and jams! haha

Good plan! :-)

DSC_0103.jpg

Got some amazing rhubarb also, making jams and pies :)

@raincountry I wonder how a rhubarb citrus cranberry sauce would taste... If done right, most of the sweetness could come from the citrus (and a touch of honey)

This post is past the payout date so feel free to re-write it in your own words.

But you really should try these, you may want to plant more rhubarb.

https://steemit.com/food/@theblindsquirl/rhubarb-bars-not-watermelon-indicates-the-arrival-of-summer-now

Those look so great!

They're really good.

Feel free to post your version of the recipe.

Interesting post. This is my first year trying to get a rhubarb plant established. I hope mine does as well as yours. I must admit though, my favourite way to enjoy it is baked in a pie!

I use rhubarb for making pies. These look really fresh.

I hadn't heard of dehydrating rhubarb, only making pie or jam. Very cool to find out! Thanks for sharing the awesome photos.

I love rhubarb too, especially in rhubarb strawberry crumble. I planted three this past spring, and they all died. I did not know it was possible to kill rhubarb, but apparently I have achieved the impossible! 😁 Will buy from a reputable nursery next year... no more Tractor Supply plants for me

Did you know that you can grow rhubarb from seeds? It takes several years to get big enough to use that way, but it works.

One thing I have learned, is some varieties prefer shade. Mine does, I have tried twice to move it to a sunnier location and it hated it, so I would have to move it back to its favorite little corner where it gets absolutely no direct sunlight.

That's a good tip, will have to remember that! I was going for edible landscape and planted them around the house. Will have to pay better attention to the planting guidelines next time!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60535.76
ETH 2598.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54