First Potatoes and Planting More Goodies

in #garden7 years ago (edited)

DSCN3290.JPG

I have this small little section at the south end of my main garden area where I plant some of my excess seed potatoes from the previous year. I always dig the potatoes up out of this section before I do the main potato patch so that I can use it to plant more things in it that will grow quickly, thus making the most of our small area and short growing climate.

I get a nice bit of potatoes out of this little section and considering it is just the "extra", I am pleased with what I get.

After digging up the potatoes, I took all the potato plants and borage that was growing in that spot, tossed them in a pile in the yard and mowed over them turning them to mulch to put right back in that same area. I planted lettuces, chives, parsely, and papalo. I doubt I will get much from the latter of those things this late in the season, I should not have a problem getting some lettuce.

DSCN3292.JPG

I still have two much bigger potato patches plus a couple other small random spots I am trying out this year to see how well the potatoes will grow there. My main potato patch is done but I am not going to start digging those up quite yet. I am not sure if I will be canning any this year or not, I still have all of the canned potatoes I did up last year, plus some from the year before that. So for now I will leave them for a bit as they will keep better in the ground. As long as I dig them up by the end of fall, they will be fine. We do not have a root cellar so the best way to store them is canning or putting in paper bags in our pantry.

Here are the potatoes I canned up last year

Potatoes 2016.JPG

Happy gardening everyone and I hope you are getting a bountiful harvest! ~Heidi

Contact
Email: [email protected]
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/RainCountryHomestead/
Hand Crafted Goods: https://www.facebook.com/heidiscrochetedart/

RainCountry1.JPG

Sort:  

Nice crop, are the canned potatoes in water only or have other additives?

Water and a bit of salt. The first year I did them I added red pepper, garlic, and onion, but decided to keep them more versatile last year

Canned potatoes? Neat idea, I'm going to follow along for more great food ideas.

WOW! Now I'm hungry. Time for dinner. Thanks for the recipe. @raincountry

A much bigger crop than I am getting from my container potatoes.

Ooh congrats on the partial harvest! This is my first year doing potatoes. I think some plants didn't do well because I didn't water them enough but others are just starting to flower. I also have some additional sprouted seed potatoes ready and I'm wondering if it's too late to plant those too!?...thoughts??? Congrats again :)

It depends on how long your growing season is. If you live where the growing season is short, you might not get much from the plants if you plant them now. However, since you won't be able to keep them until next year, it might be worth planting them and see what you get.

Well I planted them this morning so we shall see what happens! Thanks!!

You're welcome!
I hope they do well for you.

Congratulations @raincountry! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

That's a nice crop of borage you have there. :-)
Those potatoes are pretty nice, especially for mid-summer digging.
I haven't tried digging any of my potatoes yet, so I don't know how big they're getting right now.

This is the first year I ever planted lavender and really expanded my herb greenhouse. Yours looks heavenly! I imagine when you dry it, your house smells divine

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60970.88
ETH 2634.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59