What I Would Do With 50 SBD ~ Grow It Of Course 🍑

in #garden7 years ago

What would I do with 50 SBD



I would turn it into over $2000.00 real world dollars in savings. That's what I would do with it!


money-837383_1280.jpg
source


How Would I Do That



I think, with some planning and careful budgeting, I could use it to provide about 80% of my families vegetables over next 7 to 8 months which is easily $60 every week for our four adult household.
If I were to win @greenacrehome 's challenge, this project would start within two weeks and I'd have the first plants started no later than four weeks from the date of investment. The method will be a Hay Bale Garden similar to the one shown, on a larger scale.


strawbale garden.jpg
source


The Plan



What does 50 SBD actually mean right now?

SBD
STEEM
AUD
50.00
37.00*
62.00*
Price
Right
Now

*Prices will vary


If I was to be chosen to receive the SBD I would, as seems only fair to me, EQUAL the input from my own savings which equates to around $125.00 AUD.

I already have the tools, irrigation and about half the seeds needed to get going. I also have a couple of contacts for nitrogen(coffee grounds) needed to kick start the bales faster. Which leaves the main investments as the Bales and the Compost as we just don't produce enough Compost to get this project up and running. We need:
18 bales Hay @ $3.00 each : $54.00
9 bags Organic Compost @ $3.95 each : $35.55
2 Steel Posts @ $14.90 each: $29.80
What ever remains will go to seeds.


Area for garden.jpg

This is the available space

other end.jpg
about four by four 1/2 yards

mudmap.jpg
Rough Layout Of Bales


I estimate that with careful planing and intelligent planting there should be easily enough food here to keep us going for many delicious months of home grown salads and add to that the existing fruit trees, herbs and potted edibles we are already growing. This small investment of 50 SBD and my equal savings will easily make an enormous difference to our food budget, our health and our quality of life.

I honestly think that for such a small outlay, less that a fortnights vegetable bill, almost anyone with even a small space can make a huge change in their life, and save some money as well. Why not give it a go?

From Little Ideas, Big Changes Grow.

This is my entry for @greenacrehome 's Contest What would you do with 50 SBD?


Thank You For Taking The Time To Enjoy My Post
Join the Steemit Homesteaders


bar.jpg
Join The Steemit Homsteaders Slack Channel For Free, Just Click The Image And Say Hi!


Take a look at My Awesome Local Food Haul post 🙆

Or Follow me to get all my content right on your feed!👌

And Remember To

“ UpVote It Like You Mean It!!!”

~Bryan
@overthewait
What are you waiting for?

Sort:  

i am wondering amd very curious hows this type garden works fully. you grow ypur veg on the hay or the hay turns to dirt?

Hi, you cause the hay bale to go through a composting cycle, where the insides heat up and break down. After it has cooled you can plant into the bale adding some extra compost. Cheap, effective raised bed for a season or two, then masses of compost and improved soil underneath. They are known to require more water, but I'm ok with that as it's coming into the rain season here. Thanks for stopping by :-)

Great thinking! It's a really good alternative to raised beds and certainly cheaper, at least initially. Bring those veggies within easier reach! How long would a bale last? Would it be just for one growing season or a few years?

I'd expect to only get one season, because our season is all year. But the nutrients from the bales, compost and plant roots will feed the gardens long after they've fallen to bits. The site in this plan gets about 8-9 months of light. The bales will go into mulch or compost after that. Thanks for asking.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Dingo from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

That sounds like an awesome investment and I hope you'll make it no matter if you win or not. I would love to follow along.

Thank you very much. Congratulations on your Cuire that was a great post. I'm certainly planning to do some bale gardens even without a win but it would be a much smaller project. I need the raised beds to be able to do any more production.

Well done, calculating all the numbers! Seems like yours is the most thoroughly worked out plan. Most of all, I love the straw bale ideas. :-)

G'day @stortbeker , I've spent a fair bit of time going to different places looking for the best value, and making the layout so I can reach the center of each bed without difficulty and so the wheelbarrow can fit through all the pathways.
Thank you for your support and have a great day :-)

Congratulations @overthewait! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congrats on the @greenacre contest. I came here as a result of that and subbed and upvoted this article. The win was well deserved!!!!

Thank you very much! I've been very busy today and I can't get my head around the win. I'm looking forward to getting this project going, just as soon as the current one is complete!
I hope you find my eclectic and rambling blog entertaining, inspiring or uplifting in some small way. You are always welcome over at the steemit homesteaders slack. I hope to see you there!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58559.96
ETH 3156.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44