So Green!! Is this Really California?

in #garden6 years ago

014ce3c9-6334-4280-81e4-8ada078cf4d6.jpeg


It is a beautiful day in San Diego and time to do some yard work. The area next to the house is so beautifully green- albeit a bit overgrown.
Especially the nettles are reaching into the walkway. As much as I love nettles for their many health benefits and because they are delicious, I don't like them to sting my legs when walking be. Yes, I know it is supposed to be good against arthritis - still don't like it.
Today, I am going to cut them back and use some to make a highly nutritious fertilizer for my plants and use some to feed to the chickens - who also provide me with high potency fertilizer for my plants among other things.
The stones you see what we call Urbanite in the Permaculture world. For all of you uninitiated, it is broken concrete. A resource which usually ends up in the landfill but can be used for all kinds of projects. And, it is free!!!
I am off, for now, to play in the garden. More garden pics later...


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot | IPFS | Google Play
Sort:  

I sure miss San Diego. Oh how the nettles sting. I hated those plants and didn't know they were beneficial. Happy yard working in that beautiful weather.

I either didn't know or forgot that you lived in San Diego before. Yes, so many hate the nettles and they are one of my favorite plant - minus the stinging... 😀

Most likely it never came up for me to mention it :-)

We have like this place ❤

So, you live in a green area!! Nice!!

Nice to see some green, I am dreaming of spring here in the far north. The ground is somewhere under the white stuff but the birch trees are budding.

Oh, I remember the white stuff very well - and the excitement when the first sign of life became visible!!! Soon, it will be green for you too - then it will be brown here.....

Well, you can play in my backyard... It looks like a jungle there ahahaha

I bet!!! I might do that when it gets all dry and ugly here :)

Green nature looks very nice and beautiful. We all should plant trees for make the nature green and make the world safe from green house effect.

Yes!! That is a good goal to have. Plant lots of trees!!!

Did you know that stinging nettle apart from arthritis also works for cases of gastroenteritis and constipation? It also has many more properties @mariannewest

That is why I love them so much!!! So healthy!!

Wow! Is your garden green! We are so brown here. Haven't had rain since November...

We have many years of brown!! but we did have some rain and I think the stones harvest a lot of water and keep things moist in between them. And all of this green - well, a lot - is weeds. They are hardy!! Hope you get rain soon!!!

It looks beautiful. I love the green lush

Thank you. I really like it too - even though we live in drought conditions most of the year...

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.25 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.05
Server time: 23:08:15
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 306.65/400.00
Total Photos: 42
Total comments: 41
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 0.72 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66530.34
ETH 3251.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.36