Time to start new garden.

in #garden7 years ago (edited)

IMG_3277.JPG
It's fall and time to start new garden. Some will be confused, but don't forget-it's Florida. Here is everything upside down. When people harvesting their food we just planting it.
image.jpgNothing growing here in summer. There are few exceptions though. It's eggplants and okra. They love heat. But we are going to talk about everything else, besides those two. Like tomatoes and cucumbers, for example. If you plant them in summer they will burn and die in no time. So, solution is only one. Let's do it during winter. It's challenging sometimes because tomatoes do not want to set fruits if temperature at night will drop below 55F. That is happen pretty often in January-February. That is why we have two seasons: August(starting seedling indoor) - December and February(starting seedlings indoor) - May. I have few pictures from last season and gladly sharing it with you. IMG_3067.JPG
IMG_3274.JPG
IMG_3275.JPG
This season I'll share with you each and every step. That is a promise.

Sort:  

Good stuff, and good to share you knowledge. You are so fortunate to be able to grow year round. Upvoted and following

Thank you, I see you have your own garden experiments. Good to know. I followed you too.

Gardening year round! So envious!
I'm attempting my first winter garden this year. In the north state of Michigan. Just an experiment but still hopeful!

We don't or I don't think of other states as having such different growing seasons unless they are the coldest states. I think more of Florida as an ever growing state, not one that is too hot to grow. You've taught me something new. I just love your pictures, they are beautiful.

Dude, you're absolutely killing it. That's all I have to say.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @justamother to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To nominate this post for the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!

It's Spring where I am and I'm just starting a new potted garden! 💚🌱

That is so cool! I’m following you :)

Awesome. I'm sure Florida's climate is awesome for gardening

I would not say it. It’s very challenging

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66038.71
ETH 3178.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05