Natural Planter Build

in #garden6 years ago

211827E3-896A-4785-9951-40785B445ECC.jpeg

Was recently inspired to build a new planter for growing more healthy food. I’ve built a lot of planters with salvaged fences & wood, but fallen trees are my favorite. They are full of good biology, create space for life & will feed the soil as the dirt settles.

Step 1

Dig a hole in whatever shape you like. I use the post diggers, one of my favorite tools, dug about a foot deep

1A736CB7-0B5C-4987-B024-0C26D89756CC.jpeg

Step 2

Cut & Collect the Wood

Drove the truck down the hill & fired up the old chainsaw. I like tall planters because I hate bending over & the plants love the deep soft dirt

0649D00F-195A-42EF-9197-B02BCE8A70AD.jpeg

There are a few fun trails to crawl around back here

D84CE5BB-58B2-42E1-B624-46CC468452D7.jpeg

Step 3

Insert linkin logs into trench for the frame

FA1B2812-46AD-40FF-874F-6515DAA8FB9B.jpeg

Step 4

Fill with dirt

The little tractor makes this part super easy

EF913249-E792-41B8-9758-6D8182DE2963.jpeg

I used a bunch of field dirt & top grasses for the large majority, then put a scoop of really fancy organic water only soil on top to get things started well.

Plants will be happy in here, it’s full of worms & bugs & life

5698F5A2-8E81-4C2B-B42D-4CEF75DE2721.jpeg

Perhaps a special person will help me plant it 💚

👋

Sort:  

Hell yeah! This shit is inspiring!

Inspiration contagion

Apparently. Just did some garden work myself, but on a much smaller scale. I was using my sons play tractor pushing twigs😂

Working on that kids green thumb 👌🏿

Thank you so much for sharing this bud! I've got a greenhouse full of wood that I've been wanting to use for something, and you've completely inspired me. I'll snap some pictures of the results and tag you in it.

That will be cool to see, I’ve got a few different shapes. Circles are fun

I just made a much smaller planter box than yours out of pallets, now growing different types of tomatoes. What do you use for soil? I used to have a family garden where we made our own soil, I feel like a noob buying my organic soil from Walmart n Lowes. Should I even be buying bags of soil? I dont have any dirt on my property to use, Im gardening on a patio. https://steemit.com/farm/@doctorspence/day-6-tomato-and-basil---all-9-are-now-p-2018-05-20-19-05-26

Looks cool, nice box. I use topsoil from the field & throw a bunch of greens in the bottom as well. The top is a premium organic soil from the local organic farm down the road from me.

Excellent, can't have enough of that direction. It's incredible how easy nature is once all the BS concepts go out the window. It looks amazing and authentic, makes you want to plant stuff right away ahaha.

Thanks, I love simple wood & dirt. I have another planter like this with a maple tree growing in it. Might try to train some roots out the side of the logs & weave them back in, try to create a living planter !

inspiring, it looks like you really found yourself. I am visualizing my own garden patch with permanent dancefloor in front of the Earthship every day, surrounded by a permaculture foodforest and lots of little planters here and there where everything comes together.
So posts like this help that visualization out greatly <3

There is enough space on this earth for all of us to have our own beautiful creative gardens. We just have to keep planting them & share good food 🙏

Built this one last year, a blood maple in the middle, lettuces, spinach, squash & zucchini currently planted around the tree 😃

5B9C7532-8171-48B6-82B9-D9C0D8EEFFD9.jpeg

So natural looking

Ya, I need to weed 😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63453.92
ETH 3283.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89