The Water Garden - Day 14

in #garden7 years ago

IMG_20180109_213530.jpg

This garden is quickly turning into a jungle. I'm really not great at remembering to eat my plants apparently. Maybe I can do a smoothie in the morning, I'm pretty sure I saw some fruit in the fridge. That sounds like a pretty yummy way to start my day!

The water garden is just doing amazing, my plants are great, my fish is great, the whole damn thing is great! The bonus light from my hydropnics garden seems to be helping quite a bit, plus I don't have to worry about the limited amount of daylight here during the winter.

IMG_20180109_213536.jpg

And then we have Gillbert, happy as can be. When I first started he didn't really go after the food when I dropped it in his tank but this week he has really started to go after the food at feeding time. I'm thinking he might have been fed differently in the store and just needed some time to adjust. I should take a little video of it tomorrow.

You can also see how far my water has dropped in the two weeks since I started. I really thought the water would drop a lot faster considering I'm watering a bunch of plants. My hydroponics garden uses way more water by comparison. I thought I would be filling it weekly but so far haven't need to over the first two weeks.

Sort:  

Cool aquaponics system! How many plants do you have for that one tank+fish? Might try it myself! :)

it's just three little planters with seeds scattered in them but the weird thing is there is no soil. I just have some rocks that can hold some water.

Oh right so you did an aqua/hydroponics hybrid? Looks like its working really well! So to increase the number of planters you have you'd just need to add more fish right? And the limit to the system is the number of fish you can fit into your tank?

I'm just stealing light from my Hydroponics unit. I'm not really setup to expand but I think that's the general idea, add another tank with more fish and more plants.

it is sweet garden. it very looking nice

Well, how do you maintain those?
Have a great day!

My fish feeds them!

Nice post, so quick growth. Its really converting in to jungle. Thanks for posting

You're welcome!

nice idea to plant over the water. The plant i guess is good for the fish.

The plant is supposed to clean the water and the fish is supposed to feed the plant. not sure how it works exactly.

I guess the more dirty the water, the better nutrient the plant gets. And for the fish,I believe the plant is good for the fish. it is a win-win situation

follow me i will follow you:)

Self promotion could make your reputation a whale snack!

Your Reputation Could be a Tasty Snack with the Wrong Comment!

Thank You! ⚜

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65269.02
ETH 2653.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84