The Basil Massacre!

in #garden6 years ago

IMG_20180307_183638.jpg

So I harvested a bit of basil tonight. I ended up with a little bit of a mound once I was all done.

IMG_20180307_183926.jpg

Next step was ripping off all the leaves from the stems. My wife caught this amazing action shot of the riveting moments as I ripped the leaves from the stems.

IMG_20180307_184218.jpg

Still a pretty nice mound of basil after pulling all of the leaves off. I think there is going to be some delicious pesto in my future!

Sort:  

All the photos are very good. I think your wife enjoyed watching you do that as it rarely happens.

What are you going to prepare with those leaves? In our place, it is mostly used for making medicines.

I will be making pesto for the first time in my life, I'm pretty excited.

Is this an indoor kitchen garden or do you just live somewhere warm?

Nevertheless it looks like a good crop.

I do everything indoor right now, my wife does a bit of gardening in the summer but, my skills don't seem to translate into an actual garden.

Hey, @caab, If you are up for an experiment, next time don't do "basil masacre", instead you can simply rip off the leaves from the stems and keep the plant in the system, soon you will see the new leaves will start growing. Well, at least it is how I grow basil. My plant is about a half a year old and I have harvested it several times already. To be fair though, my basil is in the soil pot, maybe with aquaponics is a bit different. Please share your experience if you try.

Mine is also about 6 months old, I really wanted to reduce my plant height to help out a few of my shorter plants hence the massacre. I'm still seeing good regrowth off of what I did so I think I'm ok. I'd like to get in the habit of using basil more frequently so I'm just taking a few leaves as needed.

Nice.. I love fresh spices like that.. I've tried to grow basil several times. but, it's so hot here in Florida.. and it requires so much water.. they usually die sad to say.. any advise on what I can do for the next time I try to grow some? Great job!! upvoted and followed

I grow everything with hydroponics so I'm not the best source for advice at combating the elements. It was -20 degrees outside today so i tend to lean towards staying inside as much as possible.

Wow, you grew that all inside hydroponics .. Hmmmm maybe I am doing this all wrong.. lol I'll have to read up on that. Thanks for the idea. Anyway.. -20 is pretty dang cold.. I live in Florida, so we don;t get that kind cold.. Thanks goodness anyway..lol I would not do well in that kind of weather

Looks so fresh and green! How lovely!

So much inspiration to grow here on Steemit I love it!

aawww yeah, it finally happened! 😁

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60035.79
ETH 3187.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45