You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Black Thumb Chronicles : Permaculture, Food Forests & Tree Guilds

in #garden6 years ago

A black thumb gardener is a gardener that tends to kill plants... lol I don't think I'm at the stage of not killing things. I planted a lettuce the other day and it's dead already. It's also raining so people can't say it's not getting watered lol... It's me, I know it.

Yeh I'm only starting to learn about the planting seasons myself. It's a bit hard to get my head around it, so think I might have to make a chart or set a calendar reminder or something.

Ohh beans is meant to be awesome for your soil. I have 1 bean plant I'm hoping will live throughout Autumn and Winter...

Which fruit trees are you getting? And why not mint!??? I was so gonna plant mint.

Sort:  

Okay, I'm not a black thumb (although, none of our indoor plants survive). But definitely not a green thumb either!

Planting seasons are tricky. Unless you are really on top of it, it is just easy to forget. Also, I wonder if it is changing with the changing climate as well, the seasons on the seed packets might be a month or half a month out. On the other hand, I'm not at that level of accuracy with my planting! Sometime in the same season name is probably as good as I'm getting at the moment!

Beans were great, we did a a few rows of seeds (about 1*2 metres). They were easy to look after and we got a pretty pick crop, they also survived frost and a bit of snow. I think they are pretty tough!

Fruit, my wife wants a little apple tree. We don't have a great amount of space in our backyard, but it would be good for the shade. We've read that it needs another apple tree to cross-pollinate for the fruit. Last year, we planted a little cherry tree and a few starter bushes of blackberries. Looking foward to seeing how they go. We also have a little black grape vine, and two of these rode bessen. 2 Rosemary bushes and a thyme bush, those are impossible to kill!

aalbessen.jpg

We had a mint (chocolate mint!) growing with the rest of the herbs, but it spreads like crazy! If you plant it, make sure it is isolated so it can't spread too easily. It needs to be cut back often, so I hope you LOVE mint tea!

I'm curious about reusing our garden waste, looks interesting.

WOW.. You're definitely not a black thumber.

I don't know about having two apple trees for cross pollination.. But I would definitely say do a tree guild when you do. A doco I watched yesterday suggested for people wanting to start a food forest to begin with planting an apple tree guild.

We've still got landscaping to do on our property so I don't really want to plant trees just yet.

Check out the video in my post. I think he covers reusing garden waste.

The main thing that we have learnt is that you shouldn't try to have the dream garden straight off the bat. Try stuff, kill stuff, rip out stuff. The thing will evolve and you learn what works.

It wasn't so cold today, so I went out to have a look at what damage the winter has caused. Seems everything is starting to bud, so that's good. But we didn't plant any winter food as we didn't a month back in Australia. I guess I will be looking for early spring stuff to plant now.

PS, I just realised you are the one that did our signature, thanks again! Half the time I keep forgetting it, and add it back in a day or two later!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64686.77
ETH 3158.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57