You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Garden Journal May 2019

in #garden5 years ago (edited)

I only have 2 rows about 15m each. Those are my neighbors. Let's say that's 35m^2. I've read if you do well and vegan, you can feed 14 people per football field (100X65) ~ 470m^2 each. More would be possible if you have a greenhouse, hydroponics, go crazy intensive or have a really boring diet purely focused on efficiency. Without doing that I would need around 12 ~ 15 X the land or nearly that entire farm for a proper vegan diet without a ton of input energy.
I would need around a football field worth for a normal American diet. Then I have other family members. Farming is really tough. To feed your family organically without mechanized equipment or some serious investment in a fancy system, it's really a full-time job.

Sort:  

Oh OK - still, enough for a a few luxuries. I love these types of calculation!

I used to have an allotment so I know how much work it is!

I'm currently holding off growing anything - busy doing other work and uncertain how long I'll be settled in my present place.

But I'll be feeding myself partially again at some point in the future!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55011.75
ETH 2337.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34