VRChat - Game Within A Game

in #gaming7 years ago

I recently was invited to a map that was still being worked on. I can't say I've ever played Dungeons & Dragons, but I think it's awesome that something like this is being made!

20180310091017_1.jpg

Everything was able to be picked up and moved around. I stole a treasure chest and got put in a tiny prison. I can tell every part of the map was very well though out, from the spawning in of items, to being able to walk on or through the game table.

20180310090649_1.jpg

The spawn menu was easy to use!

20180310090828_1.jpg

There was a list of tips for everyone to look at.

20180310091354_1.jpg

Even though I've never played the game, I found myself still playing with the little figurines and exploring the miniature town. I would love to learn to play, or maybe to sit in on one of the sessions. I'll be checking out the progress on this map, and I'll probably share an update when it's a bit further along.

:D

Sort:  

I heard a lot about VRChat, do you it need VR equipment to play it? And I haven't thought it was this customizable that you can make a game inside of it.

You can play it in desktop mode or in VR. Desktop mode works fine, but it is much more fun in VR. You can do complete worlds if you like with its own rules. Nearly everything is this game is produced by its players. A never ending pool of exploration possibilities.

Nearly everything is this game is produced by its players.

It's amazing what gaming community can do for free when they are into it. I included this post in my Gaming Daily by the way.

That's cool. I've played DnD outside of VR chat before (wish I had a VR headset though, other than the mobile phone type) but nothing like this. We had figurines we used at times to represent ourselves. Sometimes they were figurines that looked like they belonged in something like that and other times we used stuff like Regular Show figurines to represent ourselves. I remember one time I was Mordecai from Regular Show and I ended up asking someone to turn mine around at one point because it looked stupid because he was facing the complete opposite way to everyone that was going on. We didn't have a board like this though. Just a whiteboard where we would draw the dungeons etc and then our figurines to represent us and other figurines to represent enemies etc. I think we had rabbids representing enemies at one point. Dnd I found to be solid. I think for most it either is something you just aren't into, or that you get borderline obsessed with, but for me I just found it solid. It wasn't the best game I had played but wasn't the worst either. It was fun and it is worth a try sometime. It's just not my favourite and I didn't get obsessed with it either. It's a solid game. The fun you have with it is dependent on the players though as you could use your imagination a lot if you chose to. I actually wouldn't mind trying out Pathfinder which is broader again in scope and options / variability than DnD is. If you have seen Harmonquest, that's what Dan Harmon and the others were playing in that.

I've never been into the tabletop stuff, and I don't think I would get obsessed with it. I was never a big fan of general board games, but I enjoyed them when I got a chance to play them with people. I think I could casually enjoy some DnD play as long as people didn't mind me being an oblivious dirty casual. I honestly think it's something I would enjoy spectating over actually playing though.

I'll have to check out Harmonquest sometime. o:

Yeah I have enjoyed it more casually than when it seemed like there was a little pressure for everyone to be there every single week. We already go to a local board games night once a week, which is great and is something I really enjoy, but I don't really need other things that have a weekly expectation. Casually I enjoy the game though and the way I'd enjoy it the most would be to be a dirty casual too.

What board games have you been enjoying playing with other people?
I found once we started going to board games night that I discovered the sorts of board games you can only get in games shops and found them a lot more impressive than the type you get from stores that sell most things and not just games. Made a good group of friends from board games night too.

I don't really socialize in real life anymore to be completely honest. All my friends are virtual. Last time I played a "board game" was on Tabletop Simulator, haha. And last time I played a physical board game was probably more than 10 years ago.

What I like about playing these types of games in a virtual reality setting, is that it feels like you're hanging out in real life, and physically touching and moving the game pieces, even though you aren't.

Yeah I imagine it would be interesting playing games like that in VR. The closest I own to a VR headset is one of those things that straps your phone to your face, which isn't the same, but still greatly exceeded the expectations I had for it, but I have used VR before at a VR cafe thing and it is pretty cool. Haven't tried to play games within games in VR before though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62416.00
ETH 2447.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62