5 Most Promising Roguelikes so farsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #gaming6 years ago

Hello Steemians,

Today I would like to introduce you to 5 roguelikes that I think are the most promising so far.
Some of them unfortunately seem to have diverged from the genre a little bit, but are still interesting nonetheless.

DISCLAIMER: I'm not counting roguelites. My list consists of games with the old school philosophy behind them.

#5 Brogue

Brogue is an interesting game, heavily inspired by the original Rogue. It's a simple, yet very satisfying. I placed it as number 5 since I have no idea if it's still being developed.

#4 Cogmind

Cogmind is a great sci-fi roguelike. It was developed by Grid Sage Games. It let's you gear up by salvaging parts of other mechanical creatures. It also focuses on stealthy behaviour.

#3 Dungeon Crawl Stone Soup

Dungeon Crawl Stone Soup used to be one of my favourite roguelikes, but I've grown to hate it. The developers constantly strip it off any depth it has left and instead replace it with hack and slash elements. It is very shameful but since it is open-source I am still hoping for a change of direction.

#2 Cataclysm: Dark Days Ahead

Cataclysm is currently my most played roguelike and is updated daily. It's depth and complexity make it one of the best I've ever played. The new changes are very promising. I hope to see it expanded even more. The tileset I am using is called Xotto+. Go check it out.

#1 Dwarf Fortress

The king of all roguelikes. Dwarf Fortress is still under development and will remain this way for a long long time. Tarn and Zach Adams have very specific plans for this title and they can be read on their site. I can highly recommend it.

Sort:  

Nice read. I leave an upvote for this article thumbsup

Is dwarf fortress playable or do we need to wait?

I would say it's highly playable if you don't mind ASCII or tile based graphics. It's very deep and interesting, but has a steep learning curve.

Ok, sounds great i'll give it a try soon. thanks for the info!

Congratulations @woad! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @woad! You received a personal award!

Happy Steem Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Downvote challenge - Add up to 3 funny badges to your board
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56849.09
ETH 2508.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32