Video Games Are A Social ActivitysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #gaming7 years ago

I used to have this joke that gaming is the most social thing I do. I am a writer who used to read a lot and those two activities, though important, are two of the most unsocial activities you can do. When I read I want silence and when I write I prefer to have nobody around. I don't know how people write in Starbucks, more power to them, but I prefer being on my own. But gaming can be very social. You can even play a single player game, with a good story, where people can watch like they would a movie.

COUCH CO-OP:

This was the original social aspect of gaming. You sit around with your friends and depending on how many controllers and players are aloud, you pass the controllers around and watch the action. Now a lot of games are competitive and that can cause problems when things get heated, but good friends got over it. I had some epic Tetris Attack battles with one of my best friends growing up. But the real social fun was when you play on the same team against the computer. One of my friends and I played Mario Party against the computer and kicked some ass. Same with Double Dash. Both good memories. You can still find games today with couch co-op and most systems let you download their older catalogues. Find a four-player co-op game, sit with your friends and enjoy the fun as playing as a team.

ONLINE MULTIPLAYER:

People may argue this isn't true social. You are on the phone or the headset and some people say that if you are not in the same room it isn't really spending time together. But a lot of connecting can be done over the phone. I used to play C.O.D. for hours on the phone with one of my friends. You are on the same team and you are working on the same goal. And you can chat in between matches. It is also gives people a common interest to chat about. And believe it or not, I have, in a way, kind of bonded with strangers who messaged me back and forth when we played together. Random people. I am, in no way, saying it is the same as being in the room with someone and getting to know them, but still, there is a sort of connection there.

There is also the other option of playing online games in the same room. You all bring a laptop and connect together. it is very geeky and a lot of fun. You probably seen it on an episode of The Big Bang Theory.

Tell me about a time you and your friends got social over games in the comments.

@whatageek

*my upvotes/rep disclaimer: https://steemit.com/steemit/@whatageek/my-steemit-account-where-i-stand-on-bots-self-votes-and-multiple-account

Sort:  

Oh yeah - I even had a combination of both during my years in high school.

I was living with a guy who introduced me to WoW and we raided together even. Fun times.

But the best time I remember was going with him on a private server that was bugged as hell - me playing a warlock with bugged fear (it never stopped) and him as resto druid - going into Gurubashi arena dueling people.

It is something to bound over. A way to spend hours together and not getting bored.

When World of Warcraft came out, I got hooked pretty fast, so this reminds me a bit of that. My best friend tried to get me into Everquest but I just didn't feel the game was very enjoyable from a social or "solo" standpoint. In WoW, I was able to log-in and do solo stuff that was interesting or accept the group invites to heal some five or ten-man groups (which I had become quite proficient at). I haven't played seriously for several years (focused on building my online business so I can quit my day job) but I still think about the online friendships, my former guild mates, where they are and what they are doing. I had a sort of connection with them at the time that was a bigger part of my life than those who were physically around me, with the exception of my daughter. Nowadays, however, when I slow down just a bit, I still miss playing D&D! :D

It really does make this kind of connection, you have both a shared goal and the same interest. Plus you can get pretty involved :p. I am hoping for game stuff on this site so you can paly on your spare time and make some steem.

I agree with you
Nice post
Thanks for sharing
Upvoted & followed
Please support
@lordoftruth
Upvotes, Resteems and suggestions are highly appreciated

online gaming is now losing its stigma of being unsocial and unproductive... it is gaining popularity even as a professional sport nowadays

Yeah and schools are giving scholarships for it.

Personally, I only play games offline. Online gaming is not as popular in South Africa due to most people not having access to cheap internet. Streaming is taking off though due to high cost of subscription tv services.

Interesting, do you watch streams?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66975.17
ETH 2594.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67