Project Stray - The Games First True Demo DownloadsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #gaming7 years ago (edited)

Download Project Stray Here: https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B-2YIXbdMSYscnJCQTAyejJTMU0/view?usp=sharing

Over the last couple of years I have worked on various different Unreal Engine 4 Blueprint based projects. This is the first time I have got this far within this dev environment and I fully believe I can go the full distance this time around.

UE4Game_2017-07-12_15-34-48.png

Project Stray is a first person shooter that mixes elements of Doom 2 and Quake with the game play rules and general concept of Dark Souls. Project Stray is basically a loot based Doom 2 Soulslike. I have a lot of experience with making first person shooters, you can look here to see my most recent Doom 2 level by the name of Redemption of The Slain.

Link to the thread : https://steemit.com/gaming/@thecastle/doom2-redemption-of-the-slain-full-release-and-download

I was also one of the level designer who headed up No Rest For The Living. No Rest For The Living is an Official episode expansion for Doom 2 that is now included within the Doom BFG edition on Steam.

Link to Doom Wiki for NRFTL: http://doom.wikia.com/wiki/No_Rest_for_the_Living

Also here is my resume for those wondering about my overall experience as a game developer. Most of my experience has been with First and Third person shooters over the years.

Link to my Resume: https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B-2YIXbdMSYsNEgtdkZHOTJmOE0

So right now I am in the process of solo designing an entire first person shooter. The only aspects of this project that I have not done are the options menu(Most of the title screen), sounds and particle effects. Everything else is of my own doing. I have been working seriously on Project Stray for about 4 months but I have probably worked on it a bit longer than that casually.

UE4Game_2017-07-12_15-35-59.png

UE4Game_2017-07-12_15-38-57.png

UE4Game_2017-07-12_15-37-34.png

UE4Game_2017-07-12_15-39-53.png


The Demo includes

  • 3 playable levels. 2 of these levels have had a full art and sound pass and one of them is still in a blockmesh state.
  • Over 20 unique weapon types.
  • Various different armor sets with different stats and values.
  • 7 Different enemy types, each with their own stats and weapons.
  • New Game plus functionality. You can replay the demo multiple times for harder and harder challenges. Everything levels up and tougher mobs will spawn for harder fights.
  • A fully functional Crafting system that allows you to upgrade and modify gear.
  • A battle system where you face pre set battles in order to obtain loot rewards as well as access further into the world.

The Demo Lacks

  • Enemies lack unique sound effects
  • Enemies lack animations
  • There is still plenty of visible placeholder art within the user interface and the game world.
  • Heavy weapons currently do not have graphics and sound (They still function as intended)
  • Advanced weapons currently do not have graphics and sound (They still mostly function as intended)
  • Grenade launchers currently do not have graphics and sounds (They still function as intended)
  • Proper automap functionality is slated for the game

What I want the game to become

  • 8 unique locations each with their own challenges. This can range from unique situations or enemies to full scale boss battles. (The Intro level and HUB do not count, I mean 8 fully sized levels filled with mobs and secrets)
  • A show but don't tell style story where you have to be looking for the clues to know what happened and what is going on.
  • Hand crafted levels utilizing my level design skills to the max. No randomly generated content. Everything is built with purpose. If you liked my previous work this will dwarf of those projects.
  • Coop, you can team up with a friend to face the games harder challenges together.
  • Character creation, you can choose from a list of preset character classes with various stat differences
  • Abilities that you can upgrade and equip to further enhance the game play experience. (Super attacks, teleporting, area of effect healing ect)
  • Equipment that gives you super jumping and jet packs.
  • Secrets, lots and lots of secrets containing special named loot with unique stats and at least one secret level.

And more, my ultimate goal will be to get the game into state where I can continue to add more content regularly. More levels, more boss battles, more enemy types, more loot.


You can support this project by simply following me and upvoting me on Steemit!

I regularly do dev streams here: https://gaming.youtube.com/c/CastleDoes/live
(4:00 PM EST)

Sort:  

If you like this article then click here to read more about the subject.

(Keywords: download, steemit, person, stray, unique, levels, project, level, demo, doom, sound, true, game, games, loot)

Suggestion bot you are kind weird lol

Hi @thecastle thank you for your feedback. Do you have any recommendations?

Not really, carry on :D

Ah finally a release! I try tomorrow and I tell you what I think. Good job.

You are very brave and probably very skilled. I wish i can program that good one day I am only in my beginningyears. It always was a dream of me to create my own game. I am imagining me doing it, you ARE doing it. Great job! I follow this up.

dafuq. Somone is stealing my name!

Wow

Nice work!

lots of effort in there.

that's a great game I like it your post is pretty great ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63651.41
ETH 2679.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80