You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Let's talk: Bloodborne

in #gaming7 years ago

This is easily one of the best games ever made. I love it! I would give it a 9.5/10. The only complaint I have about the game is that the story is really hard to follow unless you look up a video.

Sort:  

I like that about the game personally, having to hunt for the story through item descriptions and all that. Plus it means if a new player doesn't care about story they aren't forced through dialogue and all that, it's kinda welcoming for new players

yeah hunting for the deeper story is good because it rewards those that do it, but honestly someone could play thru the whole game and have no idea what is going on by the time they finish it. Dark souls does the story much better. It gives context to what you are doing and DS is extremely deep like Bloodborne when it comes to lore. In DS a new player at least has a frame of reference for the world and why you are killing all the bosses.

I would say that its more of a hindrance to new player because it does not provide a hook. If a new player is getting beat down then the story could motivate them to push on.

I am not saying the game needs hour long cut scenes like MGS4 but it could use a through line like DS.

That's true, yeah. I dunno, I found that talking to Gherman and bing told "Don't look into it too much, just go hunt some beasts." And explaining what the workshop was and all that to be similar to say, DS1 being told to go ring some bells and all that. Though I'm always happy to see more story in games, but I do personally prefer piecing everything together, brings up more of a debate and leaves room for your own creativity. It's all down to preference I suppose.

yeah I just think about when I played DS vs Bloodborne because, I love story in games and in DS I had a good understanding of what I was doing and why, and that made me want to play more. Then as I learned more thru the lore it made it that much more interesting and meaningful. In Bloodborne I played the whole game and loved it but when I was done I was like ok what was going on here. I had to actually look up stuff just to understand the general layout of the world and the people and their motivations.

In ds is was clear why you had to ring the bells and in bloodborne it was not so clear why you had to hunt. A bit of context goes a long way and it actually enhances the supplementary lore. I was so disappointed that Bloodborne 2 did not get announced at E3.

Yeah, holy crap Bloodborne 2 needs to be announced and soon, it isn't even funny anymore

psx!

Can only hope

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68373.55
ETH 2650.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71