Let's talk: Bloodborne

in #gaming7 years ago

So today I thought I'd take a moment to look at what my favourite game, Bloodborne, actually is.

First of all, we'll discuss the setting and story. Bloodborne takes place in a Gothic Victorian city called Yharnam.

The city looks absolutely gorgeous, and I often find myself stopping to just look around at how pretty and grand everything looks. Yharnam, however, suffers a terrible curse as tonight is the night of "the hunt."

The Hunt, is a night where beasts emerge and Hunters must, well, hunt them. You play as a Hunter, tasked with ending the beastly scourge; and that is all I'm going to tell you incase you haven't played it.

Now, the next part of Bloodborne I'd like to discuss is the combat. Bloodborne, if you didn't know, is made by the creators of the Dark Souls franchise, and plays somewhat similarly, minus a few big changes. The first change is the removal of shields. This may sound small, but it isn't at all. Shields are replaced with guns that are used to stun enemies, but not kill. Guns are used to shoot enemies while they attack you, and if timed right, you leave them open to a critical attack.

The next big change to gameplay is the pacing. Dark Souls is designed to be slower, more thoughtful, while Bloodborne cranks up the speed and throws you against mobs of enemies time and time again. You must learn to dodge, attack and use your surroundings to break up groups of enemies. Another feature to Bloodborne is the "rallying" function.

When you take damage, an orange bar shows how much health you lost. However, it is possible to get that health back. To do so, you must deal damage to an enemy, and your health will slowly fill back up, but it doesn't last forever, so attack fast. This is just one of the many things in the game that encourages faster gameplay and punishes slower players trapped in the Dark Souls mindset.

Now, it should go with out saying that Bloodborne is hard; at first. Unlike most games, Bloodborne lends from Dark Souls' way of doing things by subtly teaching you how to play and leaving you to remember what you learn. The game is challenging at first, but through trial and error you will get better. Like the Souls franchise, Bloodborne is about overcoming your challenges and learning from mistakes. It isn't an easy game, not at all, but it's fair, and well worth the challenge, because underneath all the deaths and sometimes questionable hit boxes, is a truly amazing game.

If RPG games are your thing, or Horror, or challenging games, and you have a PS4; pick up Bloodborne and give it a shot, you won't regret it.

That's all I want to go into now to avoid spoiling the game. If you haven't already, check the game out, and if you have, what do you think of it? Let me know below.

Sort:  

This is one of the few games I'm sad about not being on the PC.
Glad we got at least Surge.

Great post ! Would you mind if I included it in todays "best of gaming"?

Not at all! And you have my sympathy man, it certainly is a fantastic game!

This is easily one of the best games ever made. I love it! I would give it a 9.5/10. The only complaint I have about the game is that the story is really hard to follow unless you look up a video.

I like that about the game personally, having to hunt for the story through item descriptions and all that. Plus it means if a new player doesn't care about story they aren't forced through dialogue and all that, it's kinda welcoming for new players

yeah hunting for the deeper story is good because it rewards those that do it, but honestly someone could play thru the whole game and have no idea what is going on by the time they finish it. Dark souls does the story much better. It gives context to what you are doing and DS is extremely deep like Bloodborne when it comes to lore. In DS a new player at least has a frame of reference for the world and why you are killing all the bosses.

I would say that its more of a hindrance to new player because it does not provide a hook. If a new player is getting beat down then the story could motivate them to push on.

I am not saying the game needs hour long cut scenes like MGS4 but it could use a through line like DS.

That's true, yeah. I dunno, I found that talking to Gherman and bing told "Don't look into it too much, just go hunt some beasts." And explaining what the workshop was and all that to be similar to say, DS1 being told to go ring some bells and all that. Though I'm always happy to see more story in games, but I do personally prefer piecing everything together, brings up more of a debate and leaves room for your own creativity. It's all down to preference I suppose.

yeah I just think about when I played DS vs Bloodborne because, I love story in games and in DS I had a good understanding of what I was doing and why, and that made me want to play more. Then as I learned more thru the lore it made it that much more interesting and meaningful. In Bloodborne I played the whole game and loved it but when I was done I was like ok what was going on here. I had to actually look up stuff just to understand the general layout of the world and the people and their motivations.

In ds is was clear why you had to ring the bells and in bloodborne it was not so clear why you had to hunt. A bit of context goes a long way and it actually enhances the supplementary lore. I was so disappointed that Bloodborne 2 did not get announced at E3.

Yeah, holy crap Bloodborne 2 needs to be announced and soon, it isn't even funny anymore

psx!

Can only hope

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60345.08
ETH 2986.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81