Building a Very Compact Gaming PC - Part 1 - Choosing and ordering the hardware.. my bitcoin is running low.

in #gaming6 years ago (edited)

I have wanted to build a compact system for some time now, despite the fact that all my personal systems have all been in giant full Tower Cases... Hell my next PC is going to be built into a desk. (You can see that build log HERE)

v358-26_678x452.jpg

So it is surprising to hear, especially from me that I want to put together a small form factor PC with budget in mind.

tech mojo logo large steemit.jpg

This build I am doing is for my better half, @Deeviras, for her birthday. So what better excuse do I need than to build her a new compact pc that is a vast upgrade to the one she is currently using.

Her current PC consists off....

CPUAMD FX-6350
Mother BoardGigabyte 970A-DS3 AM3+ socket
Memory8Gb Corsair DDR3 1600Mhz, (2 x 4 GB)
Graphics CardNvidia GTX 750 Ti EVGA FTW
Power SupplyGeneric 550 Watts ATX PSU
Storage1Tb 2.5" HDD, 5500RPM.

It was built about 4 years ago, but it is more than capable of running most of the games she plays at present. However, Arma 3 seems to struggle a lot on her current system, averaging only 25-27 frames per second, and with this being the main game she plays in the evenings. I thought an update would go along way in improving her gaming experience.

So I started to brows various PC stores to find the appropriate components that will work very will inside a small form factor case like a Micro ATX.

Looking online, I decided to buy all the hardware from Aria PC, not only do they always have some good deals on, but they are also local (about 10 minute drive), so if there is any issues, I don't have to mess around returning items or dealing with a faceless person behind a phone.

tech mojo logo large steemit.jpg

I started to look for a reasonable case in which to fit everything in. the build is budget orientated so the case had to perform and be within budget. I came across the Kolink Satellite, Micro ATX Case which is both small, but can accommodate a large, full size GPU and ATX power supply. This meant I did not have to mess around with finding the correct size GPU or PSU, giving me lots of options to work with.
CA005KK_119273_800x800.jpg
Image Source

tech mojo logo large steemit.jpg

Next is the CPU. This was a fairly easy choice, and with AMD already being budget friendly, I decided to go with an AMD Ryzen 3 1300x. Yes it is only a 4 core and 4 thread, but when compared to an FX- 6350, or even Intel's i3, the 1300x wins every time in gaming performance.
bWFpbmltYWdlcy9wcm9kdWN0X2ltYWdlcy9vcmlnaW5hbC82ODIyNV82MDc2NC5qcGc=.jpg
Image Source

tech mojo logo large steemit.jpg

Motherboard was also a fairly easy choice, despite the lack of budget, small form factor boards available. The system wont be overclocked much, if at all so the Gigabyte DS2 Micro ATX AM4 Mother Board was an easy decision. Its cheep under £50,, and has all the basics you would expect from a modern MB.
bWFpbmltYWdlcy9wcm9kdWN0X2ltYWdlcy9vcmlnaW5hbC82NzYzNV81ODkxMy5qcGc=.jpg
Image Source

tech mojo logo large steemit.jpg

For graphics, I want to get something that can both perform, but not be overly expensive. The original idea was to get an RX 570/580, but the prices still haven't dropped all that much because miners are still buying them all up. So an Nvidia GTX 1050 Ti from Gigabyte was the clear choice. It is small, reasonably powerful, and can cope with today's triple A titles with ease. Not 4K, as @deeviras 's monitor is only a small 24” 1080.
bWFpbmltYWdlcy9wcm9kdWN0X2ltYWdlcy9vcmlnaW5hbC82Njg2N181NzM0NS5qcGc=.jpg
Image Source

tech mojo logo large steemit.jpg

With the increasing prices of memory recently, I couldn't get what I initially wanted, so I had to settle for a a single stick of Crucial Ballistix Sport, 8Gb DDR4 2400Mhz. Even though I am only using a single stick, it will allow @Deeviras to upgrade in the future by adding another stick.
bWFpbmltYWdlcy9wcm9kdWN0X2ltYWdlcy9vcmlnaW5hbC82ODc1N182MjQ1MC5qcGc=.jpg
Image Source

tech mojo logo large steemit.jpg

With this being a small and compact case, the system will produce some heat, and with that in mind, I decided to get a GameMax Iceberg 120mm all in one water cooler, as the stock one would just recirculate the air inside. This would be more efficient and exhaust the air out of the case.
bWFpbmltYWdlcy9wcm9kdWN0X2ltYWdlcy9vcmlnaW5hbC82ODU1Nl82MjMzNi5qcGc=.jpg
Image Source

tech mojo logo large steemit.jpg

There are hundreds of power supply's to choose from, but I thought I would stick to what I know. I am currently using a 1050 watt GameMax PSU in my system, so I went ahead and got a GameMax GM600 600 Watt Bronze 80+ power supply. When using a PSU calculator, it was recommended that I use a 550 watt PSU, however, this one was on sale and it would give more head room for any additional upgrades in the future. It is semi modular, quality cables, and comes with a 3 year warranty. All for just over £40.
bWFpbmltYWdlcy9wcm9kdWN0X2ltYWdlcy9vcmlnaW5hbC82ODUyNF82MjI4OC5qcGc=.jpg
Image Source

tech mojo logo large steemit.jpg

The only other thing that I bought was a GameMax wind force RGB kit which included 2 120mm RGB fans, an RGB LED strip and controller. This is mainly so I can change the fan inside the PSU and have the other on the AiO so it is in a push pull config, and I will figure out where to put the LED strip when all the components arrive on Monday.
bWFpbmltYWdlcy9wcm9kdWN0X2ltYWdlcy9vcmlnaW5hbC82Njk5NF81NzUxMy5qcGc=.jpg
Image Source

tech mojo logo large steemit.jpg

I can not wait until all this hardware arrives on Monday, I think @Deeviras will be very happy with the system she will be getting.
The only downside is I would like to get a 1Tb solid state drive to replace the hard disk she has, but after buying all this, my wallet is looking pretty empty. But it should be well worth it in the end.

I will be posting a build log, and then I shall get some benchmarks comparing her old PC to this new one.

Please go ahead and Follow @Deeviras.

She is a Gamer and Alternative Tattooed Model who posts daily about her modeling career, gaming and other useful information you may want to know.

Thanks for reading.

tech mojo logo large steemit.jpg

Don't Forget to Upvote, ReSteem and Follow for more content like this!

#tech mojo footer.png
Stu @TechMojo

Join the chat TechMojo Discord Channel

Follow us TechMojo OnG Social Page

Like us TechMojo Facebook Page

Follow us TechMojo Twitter

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @techmojo to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

I can't wait to see the finished build.

I absolutely love putting computers together, but I only do it once every five years or so. Since I hardly game and my old laptops do everything I need, I can't justify spending the money to build something I wouldn't really use. So I live vicariously through blogs like this.

you and me both. i do game from time to time, but @deeviras is a very big gamer like the 3 kids.

So that's why I should have had kids - it'd give me an excuse to build computers for them!

Included your post in my best of steemit roundup today and I look forward to following your build :)

Cheers dude. much appreciated.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57684.56
ETH 3120.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33