5 AWESOME Modern Retro Games You NEED To PLAY! - Retro Games Top 5 - Part 47.

in #gaming6 years ago

Some people still love playing retro games, so much so that there is a sub genre of retro style games being made with a modern twist.

# retro consoles.jpg

Triple A titles today, as good as most of them are, can be a little lifeless for some. Some people just enjoy pure imagination when it comes to games, and prefer older titles where anything goes. Fortunately there is a whole slew of Indie titles being made every year to appease those who like that touch of a retro look and feel in there gaming experience.

So here are 5 modern retro style games you should be playing.

tech mojo logo large steemit.jpg

5 - Cuphead.

When imagination is let loose, or you are on a really bad acid trip, you will no doubt come up with a game like Cuphead.
A side scrolling action game that has a very unique look as it does try and capture that very early animation style from 30's Disney cartoons. So much so that the majority of the animations where created in much the same way as cartoons of the past where, with each slide painstakingly drawn and painted to truly give it that cartoon look.
The game has numerous levels in which you battle through, either on land, by air or even at sea. It also concentrates more on the boss battles too. Something that seems to have been lost in modern games.
The game overall has a beautiful art style to it, that is almost a duplicate of early 30's and 40's cartoons. It plays fantastic and the fast pace makes the game both challenging and enjoyable to play.
It is so good, that it is the only Steam game in its genre that has a 10/10 score.
TEST-Cuphead-–-la-version-pour-Steam.jpg
Image Source

tech mojo logo large steemit.jpg

4 – Butcher.

Try to image what the original Doom would look like, if it was a pure 2D platform in a similar style of other games of that era? Butcher would be the answer.
I like this game. I mean, I 'Really' like this game. It is an epic throw back to what a good 80's platform game is. A simple idea, fast paced, difficult, enjoyable and very rewarding to play. The gritty look and simplicity of it is awesome, and the blood 'n' gore just makes it more entertaining for me anyway.
Make no mistake though, this game may look retro, but its mechanics and AI say otherwise. It is a little masterpiece of awesome that combines that retro feel and look with modern feel to it with intelligent AI, and evolving difficulty.
3148932-5900234957-Butch.jpg
Image Source

tech mojo logo large steemit.jpg

3 – CrossCode

if you are a fan of the early Zelda games with that top down look to the game combined with the RPG style of more modern titles, then you should be playing this.
I mean just take one look at the in game action. The art style is extremely reminiscent of the older Top down puzzle, RPG games you would of found on the SNES or Genesis back in the day. The game has huge emphasis on the story and the character development with good mix of fast paced action. It all comes together seamlessly to give us something truly unique.
Although this game has been available on steam since May 2015. it is still a fantastic game to play. It has received various updates, and it is continually being added to, to make something that is constantly entertaining to play. I think I bought this game on a whim a couple years ago, and I found myself playing it for weeks afterwards. I don't want to give too much away, but you need to give this game a try.
CrossCode-title.jpg
Image Source

tech mojo logo large steemit.jpg

2 – Flint Hook.

Platform style 2D game? Check. Crazy characters? Check. Even crazier story? Check. If I wasn't mistaken, I would have thought this would have been a game that was available on the SNES in the 90's.
It is in fact a very modern game that was developed to be a good throwback to those awesome platforms that we all used to enjoy in the 80's and 90's.
As well as being able to shoot your enemies, run, jump and all that, they did add the interesting sling hook mechanic. I don't know, it takes it's inspiration from a number of sources like the original smash brothers, metroid, bay blade, castelvainia, but at the same time, it is its own game that is unique enough to set it apart from the rest. Even so, the game is very difficult to play, but very enjoyable and rewarding, ''if'' you can complete the levels.
flinthook-3.jpg
Image Source

tech mojo logo large steemit.jpg

1 – Strafe.

I recently got this game on the steam store and I have been playing it at every opportunity that I can and the main reason I wanted to create this list. It is an awesome game that just reminds me of the old Unreal Tournament or quake games of old.
From the art style of the game, to the simplistic graphics that have modern touches like a round counter for certain weapons. It looks amazing, the FPS aspect is all the more awesome, fantastic animations, fast paced combat, enemies with accurate hit boxes, just everything about the game is very retro, old school, nostalgic, pure unadulterated fun.
Even the advertisements that these guys came up with are a throwback to how over the top adverts were back in the day.
If you want a single player battle arena type game that has Unreal Tournament and Quake written all over it, but with that modern twist, then you HAVE TO BUY THIS GAME! It is fucking awesome and I can not praise it enough.


strafe-feature.jpg
Image Source

tech mojo logo large steemit.jpg

Being able to relive some old memories is always good fun, but if you can combine that with modern games that essentially celebrate the golden age of gaming, you can make some new, possibly even better memories with these games.

Thanks for reading.

tech mojo logo large steemit.jpg

Make Steemit Work For You! Join SmartSteem NOW!... Click HERE to Find Out More!


Don't Forget to Upvote, ReSteem and Follow for more content like this!

#tech mojo footer.png


Stu @TechMojo

Join the chatTechMojo Discord Channel
Follow usTechMojo OnG Social Page
Like usTechMojo Facebook Page
Follow usTechMojo Twitter

@TechMojo Recommended Blogs you should follow.


@Deeviras@Gaming-Stuff@retro-room
@gamesociety@Rerez@C0ff33a
@Free999Enigma@deadspace@SteemGC
@GeekClub@XR-HammerGaming@tygergamer

If you want to apper here, then contact us via our Discord Channel!


Like this Content? Why Not Donate Then.

Bitcoin Wallet Address.1L8TZDQasoBU2RNcjkSeZX3iUsSaHT37aj
Ethereum Wallet Address.0xe3c6372121554f73c38acae3312fc7b1ddaf670f
Sort:  

I only new about CupHead which I watched gameplay videos, I won Flint Hook in a giveaway but it's still in my Back Log I go through slowly. Haven't heard about the rest.

About Butcher... it seemed too dark for me (tagged GORE in steam page) until I saw some screenshots of the gameplay now, well... I'll stick to Flint Hook... haha :')

All in all, great list and better than the lists I would come up with (I'll probably put some uninspired $1.9 game because those what I considered true retro-styled.) Included this in my Daily Picks.

excellent information for gamer"s check my similar post :https://goo.gl/aiPeVV

I soo wanted to love Cuphead, but it's just too damn hard for me. I'm not enjoying myself when I play it :-(

And that is the second mention of Flinthook I see in 10 minutes. That's got to be some kind of sign.

get it. it is awesome to play.



Congratulations, this post was rewarded with a SteemGC Upvote!

Want to meet fellow Steemit gamers and earn upvotes yourself? Join the SteemGC Discord channel!

TBT. But I'm more of an N64, Gamecube kind of guy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55819.41
ETH 2522.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32