Counter-Strike: Global Offensive "Operation Hydra" Review

in #gaming7 years ago (edited)

Hey everyone,

I wanted to do a short review of the new operations pack that has been added to Counter Strike:Global Offensive.

I actually decided to stop playing Counter Strike a month ago and didn't play at all until recently when the new update was released. This was a big update and featured a lot of new thing to the game. Here is the official update introduction: Operation Hydra .

It includes new maps and also new game modes. This hasn't been added before since i started playing except for one new map called Canals. So this kind of got my interest back thinking new maps would make the whole game different and it actually felt like it did.

I logged in to my account and saw that for me to get full access to the all new features i had to buy an Access Pass for Operation Hydra. This costs 5.89€ and unfortunately I didn't have that amount in my Steam wallet so I could't afford it.

I decided to try one of the new maps with a friend and the first one we played was "Insertion". We we're surprised to see that this map was based in Sweden which is our neighbor country so you kinda felt like at home on it haha except for the vans and hostages of course .

It looks like this:
CaptureCS1.PNG


After we played this map I somehow remembered that I had a skin for a weapon that I never really used so i could sell that on the Steam market to get the money i needed for the Access Pass. After selling the skin i bought the Access Pass and unlocked all the new features.

I saw that if you got the pass you could also play in a new "mission mode" which is completely new to Counter-Strike as far as I know. This mode allowed you to play in Co-Op mode with another friend through various missions. This sounded insanely cool. Here's how the mission map looked:
Capturecs2.PNG


So I persuaded my friend to also buy the pass and join me on this adventure.

Once he had bought it we started the first mission which was to shoot 15 enemies with a special weapon. The enemies would appear in waves and also increase in difficulty simultaneously. It was really fun at first since it was just me and @acidyo playing and talking at the same time making jokes and stuff so it was really cool. We made it through a few of the missions and decided to take a break for a while. We didn't play for the rest of the weekend. I guess my problem with it was that you played against bots instead of real people.

Another thing that was also added was of course a new case for the operation. That means new skins for weapons and new chances to get "good" drops. I myself have never gotten anything worth more than a couple euros from those cases so I've stopped opening those a long time ago after about 10 cases.

So this was my short review of the new add-on to the game. I don't really know how many CS:GO players there are on Steem but i hope at least some! :)

Be sure to leave a comment if you do and add me on Steam if you wanna play with me sometime!

Here's a bonus picture of my favorite skin that I have had since I started playing. It's and AK-47 "Case Hardened" skin:

Untitled.png


Remember to comment and follow if you like my content so far and also add me on Steam if you want to play!

My username surprisingly is: $trawHat

Peace out, Strawhat

Sort:  

your gun alone makes me want to play again

Haha, yeah I really like that gun :D I've been wanting to name her something but can't come up with the perfect name :/

I'm sure it will come in the right moment!

The graphics looks pretty dope....I should play this game. I've been slacking these days,damn. Thanks for the awareness, looking forward to more gaming posts

Yeah they've made it pretty dope actually :) thanks for reading and I will be doing more gaming posts in the future :)

that's very interesting.. i want to play..

oye excelente y que bueno ver tu publicacion y para mi recordar cuando despues del colegio me dirijia con mis amigos a un centro de internet a jugar y durabamos horas en torneos y partidas, de verdad fue una epoca demasiado buena para mi y es bonito poder ver y recordar esos momentos garcias por compartir :)

by little you get to greatness continue to make good post that you manage to be very great. I'm trying to do the same follow me I'll follow you

I hate hostagemaps but Insertion was actually pretty fun map to play ! Tho the area where you have to drop hostages is a little too big to defend, since there is lot of fog and you can't see clearly..
Map in Sweden, yay! Next time in Finland! ;D

Haha, yeah! First time we played it i was like naah, it's a hostage map. But it turned out to be a lot of fun anyways . Yeah i do agree about the drop zone. Far too big.
Haha hope they make a finnish one soon :D

I have been playing Cs for 9 years but only GG and stuff like that :D now I'm trying comp for the first time and everyone keeps yelling at me in russia =D
I have soooo much to learn, even the basics !

great...rs and upvote for u....

It was refreshing with new maps I have to admit. I still wish they would focus on differentiating between players based on language and not IP or location. There's nothing more off-putting than meeting players you can't understand or don't understand you when playing a game that requires this much teamwork.

I don't really want to talk about the cases and drop rate of skins cause I would be commenting til tomorrow morning about everything I think is wrong with it. :p

oh well, good game though I guess.

Yeah, that's how I've felt since I started playing. It's impossible to get any teamwork going if no one speaks the same language. I feel like i actually get surprised if I happen to get a game with english speakers. But i guess that's gonna be a problem as long as there's no Nordic server or something.

Haha, yeah I can agree with you on that one. The whole thing is so insane you could talk about it for days. :D

Thanks for reading :)

These new maps might make some good footage for [Steemit.com] TINY WHALE and Strawhat ^^

once we get better at them ;p

Haha, yeah absolutely :D I think we're pretty good already ;)

Awesome post about my favorite genre of all times :D last summer I finally arrived GE and as always I stopped playing for my classes and now I'm back to Supreme since the last time I tried a game there :) keep up with the good work

Thanks man, awesome to see another player here :) I'm only at DMG rank but I'll get there one day! :D thanks for reading!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63824.30
ETH 3420.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54