Let's talk Magic | My third Dominaria DraftsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #gaming6 years ago

Good mornin-afternoo-venind, dear readers and Magic: The Gathering-interested humans! Welcome to a quick run-down of my third, and most likely last, draft of the super-awesome Dominaria set!

It’s interesting because I chose to go into this draft not being 100%. Not meaning that I wasn’t feeling right - although I was still recuperating from a cold - but that I was relatively tired. I had gone to the gym earlier in the day, where I did a very light workout, because again, I’m recovering from a cold which makes me weaker all across the board. So I wasn’t really looking forward to it, but I knew I’d enjoy it if I would go so I decided to make it a bit of an experiment and see how I fare when approaching the game with a bit of an altered state.

The interesting news is that I did not lose all of my matches this time - I lost two and drew the third. But when I go into details you’ll see why that isn’t as simple as that either.

The deck

This week’s boosters were the weakest of all my drafts. There were almost no real first pick choices and even afterwards, cobbling together enough cards to create a cohesive deck proved to be quite difficult.

I started relatively well with the Benalish Marshal - opened him in pack one and he was my first pick because honestly, it was the best card in the pack. I didn’t really want to be play white again, but considering what came afterwards, I had very little choice.

I ended up drafting a white-green mix of not-really-great cards, but a couple of fun ones and one cool artifact combo.

Mana availability was - again - a problem. In my first game I was mana screwed both rounds and really had no chance against a properly functioning deck, even if it was slow. I ran 17 lands from the start with what I think is a good blend of cards - - but I have always been extremely unlucky when it comes to land drops. This is one of the major reasons why I am not very competitive when playing Magic, and I just want to enjoy and have fun.

If any of you have some special shuffling technique, I’d like you to share it in the comments because fuck knows, I need help.

However, I am well aware of this and that’s why I had three cards in the deck to help me, hopefully fix my mana problems.

One foil Adventurous Impulse, a Skittering Surveyor and a Gilded Lotus.

Due to the not-so-great boosters, the deck is a bit of a mess, I had pretty much no real removal and my creature-to-spell balance wasn’t great either. Thankfully I did have a couple of Gift of Growth as combat tricks and some enchantment removal - because in this set, you need to be able to remove those sagas!

And talking of sagas, I had not one, but two in my deck, two of the same.

Not the greatest of sagas yeah, but they are cheap and work well with basically anything, and being in white, I wasn’t going to pass them up.

They did come into play once or twice, they’re not a bad way of pumping up your largest creature, basically it’s a +2/+2 for 2 mana, after the second turn - that’s not a bad deal. And that last one isn’t a bad thing either, the lifelink especially can help buy you some time.

The second game is the one which ended up as draw. This time my lands were present a little bit more, so much so that the last game stretched into overtime and by the end of the last 5 turns both of us were still standing so that one was a draw. Already right there it meant that this draft was already better than the past two :))

Now onto the last game, there wasn’t really a full game, it was just one round. One round that lasted for the length of an entire game. I played against a youngster who had an entire black deck built around one card. One card that can grind lots of things to a halt if you don’t have a perfect response to it. That card is Lich’s Mastery, and there’s very few counters to it, because it’s hexproof.

The only real ways of dealing with it would be with a spell that targeted the player or make the card target itself. Unfortunately the first option wasn’t doable and the second, well I didn’t have enough time to do that because after eventually losing the first round. We didn’t have enough time to play any further, so that was the last game.

But again, even with this, the draft was better than my last two and quite fun, even if I was really sleepy by the end of it :))

I mentioned something about a cool artifact combo I got to draft, here it is.


This combo was used against me a couple a drafts ago and this time I got to use it as well, it’s quite wonderful.

I was telling myself that if the opportunity ever arises of drafting a Gilded Lotus, I would do it. I like the art and obviously enjoy the effect, but the word Lotus has such a massive connotation and reverberation throughout Magic’s history that I feel owning any of the, several cards containing the word has to be a must for any Magic card collector out there.

As for the foils, they’re not worth really anything, just that they look really nice and I needed both of them in my deck. The first one in a try to fix my mana and the second to act as some manner of removal, even if it is technically more of a combat trick.

So anyway, that’s been my recounting of my third Dominaria draft. I don’t think I’ll make it to another one until the M19 release draft event, but I am very looking forward to M19.

I think I’ll make a quick article about why I am looking forward to it, next week :D

Don’t forget to upvote, resteem, comment and follow!

You can find me in these places as well:
YouTube: youtube.com/user/CNonsense/featured
dTube: d.tube/#!/c/stefanonsense
Twitter: twitter.com/StefaNonsense
Facebook: facebook.com/CNonsense
Instagram: instagram.com/stefanonsense
Join me on my friends' GaminGHD Discord Server discord.gg/CZSXJwy
Gaming-Related Friends you should follow: @free999enigma @unacomn @gaminghd @ropname @vladalexan

Sort:  

I have just ordered a box of Dominaria. I'll be doing a fat sealed event in a couple of weeks (9 boosters each), it should be fun. I like the Marshal guy, shame he doesn't get the 1/1 too.

Hehe yeah, but on the other hand, it's all "other creatures" so he's great in a multi-colored deck, despite his casting cost being more of a mono-color requirement. With a Gilded Lotus that's a non-issue :)) Make sure to share your coolest cards of the box :D

I will make a post after it happens, hope to get some good pulls.

Your post was upvoted by the @archdruid gaming curation team in partnership with @curie to support spreading the rewards to great content. Join the Archdruid Gaming Community at https://discord.gg/nAUkxws. Good Game, Well Played!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64349.20
ETH 2673.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83