Steam Guide: More bang for your steem!

in #gaming7 years ago (edited)

Steam_icon_logo.svg (1).png

The great summer sale is upon us, the discounts are going down into the very pits of hell itself. You know where the E.T cartridges are buried! There is only one question...how can I get more bang for my Steem?

Operating Budget

Now I have for this summer sale 59 dollars to spend. I know currency other then Steem is heresy, but bear with me! What can I get? Originally I was leaning towards this big honking title, being the fan of warhammer 40k that I am.

Dawn_of_War_III_Cover.png

Then I looked at the price tag, the reviews and finally the game footage itself. I was appalled. They had taken everything great about W40K and ruined it. The voice actors were trash...scratch that, perhaps (on a good day) the third grade talent show in Detroit. To make matters worse, I saw Bunnyhammer Angelos...

Gabj00LPjMs.jpg

And yes the big guy on the right can jump around in that armor...

The final clincher is price. Even discounted at 25%, my inner cheapskate is screaming in unison with my fun loving inner gamer. This is not an A-list title. It shouldn't even be approaching the price of an actual A-list title...read Fallout 4 and Skyrim. At best this game should be priced at 30.00 bucks period. To make me actually buy it, they would have to give a 50% discount on that price.

Fun Value

At the core of this we all buy games for one reason, that reason is one word...fun! We do not throw down our hard earned greenbacks to be moralized, educated, scammed or used to fuel the corporate monstrosity that owns the gaming studio. We buy games for fun! So the question is what can I buy to entertain myself until the next big sale at Christmas? Here we go!

My shopping list explained

Shadows of Mordor: Game of the year edition 3.99 (80% discount)

Age of Empires III: Complete Collection 9.99 (75% discount)

Caesar 3 3.95 (34% discount)

Neighbors from Hell Compilation: 2.49 (75% discount)

Total War: Warhammer 20.39 (66% discount)

Sid Meier's Pirates: 2.49 (75% discount)

Dawn of War - Master Collection: 9.49 (75% discount)

Total: 52.79

Age of Empires III, Caesar III, Sid Meier's Pirates, Neighbors from Hell Compilation

I bought these four games for a reason, I've played them before on my first computer. Sadly they were lost when my old dinosaur died from motherboard complications. What I remember is this...those games were fun! They may be old, but they are fun! Let me repeat, fun! Despite their outmoded graphics and age, I still want them back. Particularly since I swapped a dinosaur computer for a paleolithic one!

Fun Fact: I compared the AoE III playerbase at 2:00 PM my time to the DoW III one...DoW III had 1199 players in game, AoE III had 3,145 in game. That speaks volumes.

Total War: Warhammer

This is my one truly "new" buy and I got it for one reason, fun! I like the idea of combining RTS with turn based strategy! Plus It's 66% off, how could I say no?

Dawn of War - Master Collection

I have DoW II and I wanted another warhammer 40k game, so this is what I turned to. I look forward to playing the first DoW game, especially with all the mod support it has! Plus even without the sale it is much better priced then DoW III is!

Shadows of Mordor: Game of the year edition

At 80% off this is the cheapest game here by far and while not a Tolkien die-hard, I do like Lord of the Rings. As a result I got this to scratch that itch and give me another action game. Should be fun, and if not, I only spent 3.99 bucks on it!

That is one amazing total of 52.79 dollars, even coming in six dollars under my budget! That is a great bang for my Steem!

So readers what did you get with your hard earned cash? Did you make your depression era granny proud with your thrift or did you make the corporate gods smile with your over expenditure?

P.S My follows I am sorry for having been away for nearly two weeks, I've been laid up with the bloody stomach flu. I'm like a cat, I don't like other people knowing when I'm sick...I know I'm supposed to transparent on Steem!

Sort:  

Congratulations @starvingauthor! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @starvingauthor! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53948.70
ETH 2245.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29