Monday Memories 3# - The Sega Saturn

in #gaming7 years ago

The Sega Saturn was a 32 bit gaming console released in Japan at the end of 1994 and mid 1995 in both Europe and America.

The Sega Saturn followed the popular Sega Genesis and was the first Sega console to use CD-ROMs instead of cartridges.

It ran with dual CPU's at 28.6 MHz.

Facing competition from the Sony Playstation and Nintendo 64, poor marketing and failure to release a Sonic The Hedgehog title (Sega's flagship character) was blamed for the Saturn's lack of success.

Roughly 9 million units were sold before being discontinued in 1998 (2000 in Japan)

Advertising Campaigns

An advert for the Sega Saturn featuring Ice Cube:

Games

As well as many arcade ports the Saturn came with an array of original content.

Nights into Dreams

Nights into dreams was developed by the team that created the popular Sonic the Hedgehog. It was released in 1996 and was based around Claris and Elliot, 2 teenagers who enter into the dream world known as Nightopia.

Your mission is to stop the evil Wizeman from destroying the dream world of Nightopia.

Virtual Fighter

Released in 1994. The gameplay was similar to all other games of it's genre (button bash)

Panzer Dragoon

Panzer Dragoon is set on a post-apocalyptic planet. You must compete for both land and resources. As well as the technology of the Ancients.

I wonder how well the Sega Saturn would of done without the competition from Sony and Nintendo.

Did anyone own one? Or still play it today?

Thanks for listening

Happy Steeming Steemers and Steemettes.


If you like this you may like my other recent posts:

The Ataribox - The little we know so far (with promo video) !

https://steemit.com/gaming/@somecoolname/the-ataribox-the-little-we-know-so-far-with-promo-video

Would you upgrade yourself?

https://steemit.com/technology/@somecoolname/would-you-upgrade-yourself

Would you choose to live in the matrix?

https://steemit.com/technology/@somecoolname/would-you-choose-to-live-in-the-matrix

5 old forms of technology that would confuse kids today

https://steemit.com/technology/@somecoolname/5-old-forms-of-technology-that-would-confuse-kids-today


Please Upvote, Resteem, and Follow

Sort:  

My first wife took my Saturn in the divorce. Sad day in my life - losing my Saturn.

Haha best comment ever.

I loved mine <3

It was a great console wasn't it. I wish I still had mine.

Never had the chance to play this console :(

I don't know many who had the Sega Saturn. It was over shadowed by the Playstation. Definitely worth playing if you get a chance.

I bought my first Saturn in 1999 and only owned it for a few months before selling it and the games with it.

I bought it again around ten years ago and its a great console, greatly outperforming the PS1 in 2D gaming (but struggling with 3D). Unfortunately, collecting for it is difficult due to the low sales of the system and expensive, again due to low sales which have driven up prices due to scarcity.

Sadly I also sold mine as well, but wasn't I lucky enough to get another one. Good to know their still getting used today.

By the time I owned one I had my first kid and game money almost disappeared. I did smoke a lot of weed and play a lot of Bug!

I never had bug, but I remember playing it at a friends. Can see how you could spend many hours on it. Thanks for the comment.

Hey - nice overview. Could you share some information on the state of Saturn emulation please? Not sure if anyone has managed to release a decent Saturn emulator, and even though it was a 'failed' console, there were still some games I would have loved to be able to play.

I've had no experience with any Saturn emulators sadly. You can pick up an old Sega Saturn and a few decent games off ebay for a reasonable price.

I've never played Sega Saturn before. I bought the Nights into Dreams controller a few months ago and the cartridge that lets you play burned discs (Nights goes for over $100.00!) . There is a Sega Saturn for $60 in my local video game store which is probably a fair price. I'm going to buy to basically play 2 games, Nights and Saturn Bomberman. I love this hobby.

Yeah $60 is reasonable considering there isn't a great deal of them out there (still millions but compared to other consoles). Bomberman is a classic. If you do get the console Panzer Dragoon is a game worth trying.

I'm def getting one before end of the summer. I'll research Panzer Dragoon. The youtubers all say the Saturn is best 2-d tech, that was able to do some 3-d. What is the platformer? Sega is such a fascinating company to me.

*best platformer

Mr Bones was good and pandemonium (also available on PS). Yeah the Saturn was a good console. I think it was just bad timing with the PS and N64 being so popular.

Thanks. Much appreciated.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60497.39
ETH 2637.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56