The Cat Lady [Game Review]

in #gaming7 years ago

20171021192411_1.jpg

There aren't many video games about the everyday sufferings of crotchety middle-aged women, but The Cat Lady manages to elevate the horrors of domestic suffering to cosmic proportions.

The game begins with a suicidal woman being given immortality - a cruel punishment for someone who wants nothing more than to die. You play as Susan Ashworth, who starts the game by downing a bottle of pills while being watched by her concerned black cat, Teacup. However you soon find that death is not the end of your sufferings, and in a dark woods between life and death you discover a strange woman some call The Queen of Maggots, who tells you that you must kill 5 evil people before you will be allowed to die.

20171021194909_1.jpg

The Cat Lady is a flawed albeit beautiful gemstone buried within the Steam horror category - produced in 2012 by Harvester Games, I happened upon it by accident searching through the horror tag. The Cat Lady almost feels like a game that was unearthed from a parallel world, or discovered in some secret developer's basement. Since I'd heard nothing of this game, it almost felt like I was the only one who'd ever played it.

The Cat Lady employs point-and-click style game mechanics. You use the arrow keys and the enter key to interact with everything in the environment. The controls feel a little clunky, and the character sometimes difficult to manage, but they seem to work with the odd, pasted-on art style and contribute to the overall surrealism of the experience.

20171025103753_1.jpg

The Cat Lady is a horror game - but ultimately, it's a game about familiar pains. Susan suffers from depression brought on by the ordinary pain of living. The loss of love, the death of a child, growing old, isolation. The environments are once familiar, but distorted. Hospitals, basements, and apartment flats warp around you, leaving you feeling disoriented and alienated - oftentimes in a way that will feel familiar to the suicidal or the depressed. Oftentimes it employs a black and white palette, with small splashes of color to signify that certain objects are important.

20171025124021_1.jpg

There are no easy answers in this game, and sometimes the storyline is clunky and messy, much like its control scheme. There is a lot of symbolism that is never quite explained (Which may be what you prefer.) The voice-over work tends to be inconsistent, with some characters too loud and others too quiet. Still, it's worth playing for the horror aficionado, and its story stayed with me long after I finished the game.


tumblr_o3fvsjD8tw1qmvvt6o1_1280.png

Follow me on twitter, facebook, or on my website. You can also buy my books here.
Stock photo from Pixabay

Other posts you may be interested in:
ASMR - That Tingly Feeling In Your Brain [Plus Favorite Videos]
I Skipped The Orgy and Stayed Home [Writer's Journal]
Doki Doki Literature Club [Game Review]
What Remains of Edith Finch [Game Review]

Sort:  

This kind of horror game is my favorite. Psychological, full of symbolism, the word "cat" in its name - It has it all!

I'm not sure on whether I like the art style but that's usually something I get accustomed to quickly. Perhaps I'll give The Cat Lady a look.

If you're looking for a truly horrifying game, try MyMadnessWork's imscared. Best horror game I've played to date. Perhaps you already played it?

Upvoted and followed! I liked your way of writing a lot, and I think your content is my kind of thing. See you around!

I appreciate the follow. I actually haven't played imscared, but I'm intrigued. I'll have to check it out.

I wasn't a big fan of the art style at first either - but I find that with a lot of games the importance of the art recedes into the background as you become more engrossed into the story.

Wow, I've never heard of this cat lady game but oh my it is so timely! Lol

Man this game is deep 😅

Man this game is deep 😅

You did a great job on this @snowmachine

Wow nice game thank's to share I played this game I liked it , the play style was amazing thank's for sharing am waiting for your new posts , am also posting about games I will very happy if you read my reviews , good luck

I love this game so much. Be sure to check out Downfall (the sequel) where you play as her neighbor Joe Davis. I loved that one even more despite it being much shorter.

I love games that tell stories, and find new, clever ways to do so. The Silent Hill games have long been a favorite. There too, the controls are clunky, but somehow they fit with the uneasiness of the game.

I must admit to being a gaming lightweight. I want to see what happens next, and when a tough boss-battle gets in the way, my enjoyment always turns to frustration. I've often turned to YouTube to watch play-throughs of the ends of harder games.

What a pussy, right?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59900.81
ETH 2561.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55