My top choices of indie games that I am supporting. Part 2

in #gaming7 years ago

This is a follow up to my post I made yesterday. What are ideas to get yourself out there as a game dev? Borrow ideas from past games and make something new about them? You need an idea, something old that can be redone again. Or you need to create a new genre. No one has made a first person wrestling video game. What about a platformer MMO? Like think of super mario 64 in a huge map with 100s of players.
NINTENDO64--Super Mario 64  Multiplayer 13_Feb22 15_47_31.png

Romhack of Mario 64

You have to scale new platforming challenges that get harder and harder and there are two sides. Do you go and try to complete the challenges or do you run to the other side and fight the other team? ID play the fuck out of that. Id play it till I die.

How do you get people to enjoy your games? Do you go to every video game website. Ask all the assholes to make a article about your game? Do you sneak into E3 and talk to all the devs to see if they would either help you try to promote it? Do you make a kickstarter and then soon steal your customers money to buy luxuries in your life? I sure hope not. Do you hide under the radar and come up randomly with a newly designed game.

Use steemit as a means to make the game or track it? Someone should come here and do that. Id follow them and play their games-Good idea

It is about creating a game worth playing. - Good idea

What is your audience? Is this a niche game. How many people do you expect to play. All of these things come into effect.

Make a game with choice game mechanics that hook people into wanting more.
What do players want? What are there no games of now? All of these things can be figured out by trial and error.
Make a community. Word of mouth is a good way to sell things.

I ask indie devs to go look deep into their own soul to create a games because games lack substance and innovation in the games industry. Who knows you might replace those triple AAA companies.

divider-thorns.jpg

Here is the link to part 1 if you have missed that

https://steemit.com/gaming/@sinned/my-top-choices-of-indie-games-that-i-am-supporting-part-1

Now on to the second part

divider-thorns.jpg

The second group of 5 games I will be throwing at you guys.

1. Counter Attack

header.jpg

Counter Attack

-Early Access with the dev constantly working on the game. Usually a update per week.
The developer has spent 4,000 hours playing and tweaking his own game.
If I can I will put a picture of his online time when I get the chance
Above is a placeholder

GIF

Only going to do 1 per game.

Counter Attack reinvents the shootem up genre. It takes all classic titles throws it in a blender with a modern coat of paint. When you play it harkens back to a time of R-TYPE and Gradius. What Counter Attack does that is different is there is a mass of enemies to kill. Do not expect to kill every enemy. Good luck trying to do that. I bet there is a few people who have done that.
On top of the mass of enemies there is a multiplayer mode which has 8 people on screen shooting bullets.
The first time I played multiplayer the whole screen was bullets. I played a few rounds and some how I was the last person left out of 8. I dodged weaved and I got hit and let my whole team down. If 8 player doesnt satisfy your ADHD then I saw a server with up to support for 32 players. I do not know how that will work but it sounds like the shootem up to end all shoot em ups.
On top of all of this there is 100s of different upgrades your ship can get and a ton of ships to play with. It has great graphics and great audio on top of that.

User reviews: 91% of the ratings were positive by users
OVERALL: Positive (47 reviews)
I also recieved a key from him for free which I currently feel bad about and need to make it up to him.
http://store.steampowered.com/app/451600/CounterAttack/

Trailer

divider-thorns.jpg

2. King Arthur's Gold

ss_f26e6e947876234bd74eddf6de50ad1802ae0505.1920x1080-01.jpg
King Arthur's Gold

Released- Custom based mods keep people coming back for more and it goes on sale a lot so you can get it for cheap.

Gif

You see all of those little dudes on the screen? Those are all players. This game is chaotic and hectic. The whole point of the game is to build forts to protect flags on your side while overcoming the other sides forts. There are three classes Archer, builder, and knight. The archer has a cool hook shot like thing that he can traverse quickly and shoot fast. The knight can use his shield to hover over his enemies. Those are all self explainable mostly. You can also get resources from the level around you and make bombs/boats/catapults to destroy the other teams fort. It is super fun. Modded levels have guns, assassins, mages and much more.

User reviews:
RECENT: Mostly Positive (17 reviews) 76 % of the ratings were positive by users
OVERALL: Very Positive (2,326 reviews) 84 % of the ratings were positive by users

Lets Plays

divider-thorns.jpg

3. Sol Contigency


Free demo is out
http://sol-contingency.com/
but development on the game is delayed and I am making this post and talking to them to get their asses back into making a game.

GIF

Sol Contigency
is currently in limbo. They have not talked about creating something since 2016. It upsets me and depresses me because out of all the modern 6dof games that are coming out Sol Contigency has the most promise. I think one of the other 6dof games stole some momentum or shooting that Sol Contigency had. How these guys started out was they were remastering descent. The original creators found them and sued them for IP rights. They had to scrap their whole game and restart a new. Thus Sol contigency was born. The speed of the game and the shooting was on par to the first descent game and it be upsetting to lose this game forever. They hyped up a release of a demo that I wish was on steam. Got a few people to play with me but now no one plays on the servers no more. Wish me luck with trying to convince these guys into making a game again.

Trailer


divider-thorns.jpg

4. StarSector

Early Access going to come to steam soonish from what I hear
Content packs come in slowly but have a lot of stuff added to the game as well as mods that are currently being created and sometimes implemented into the game

Gif

StarSector
This is the ultimate 2d space game. You have destruction to ships you have controlling any one of your ships in a fleet. You can order them around to attack targets. You have a complex upgrading system and ship recruitment system. You have a economic sim. You have bumper cars in space. You have missions. You can explore space. This game has it all. Install a rammer on top of your ship spin around and attack people you can do that. My description does not it enough justice.
This is another game I wish for it to be on steam. I bet this game will blow up when it comes to steam.

Trailer

divider-thorns.jpg

5. Castle In the Darkness

Released and I think the game is perfect I would not mod it or anything

GIF

Castle in the Darkness
Is an ode to a by gone era. It brings nes hard to the modern world. Just when you think you are going to do good the game fucks you up over and over again. In the first levels me and my friends played this we died about a 100 times to different things. If a game that challenges you is your thing then this game would be good for it. It is castlevania and megaman kinda mixed with its own little unique style. The 8 bit is perfected and the soundtrack is awesome. I suggest anyone who is into 8 bit games to pick this one up.

User reviews: 80 % percent reviewed positive by users.
I think the main complaint is it is too hard which means they never played a nes game in their life.
OVERALL: Very Positive (756 reviews)
http://store.steampowered.com/app/262960/Castle_In_The_Darkness/#app_reviews_hash

Lets Play

divider-thorns.jpg

Thank you for looking at this post that I put up

I am going to make another part
Part 3
But I am going to work on some other ideas for a bit and you will get another fix of indie games!

till then goodbye!

divider-thorns.jpg

Thank you to all the devs and the lets players for the content they provided so I can put this on the internet.

If you like what you see here comment upvote and follow at @sinned

Sort:  

Oh man, I gotta check out the Sol game, that looks totally up my alley.

And otherwise - great post!

When you do let me out ill throw the game up. There is nobody on that game right now there is a discord thats dead for it if you wanna join it

am sorry, but I'm not sure what you are trying to say

LOL i like to type in my own way man. Ok so sol contigency the devs have a discord that is not really booming with interest. It is hard to get a game on there. I want them to keep on creating the game but right now the project is dead. LOL sorry

Yeah are you in your discord can I talk to you when your free man?

sure, you'll find me on the Steemtrail server quite easily as kralizec

Wow! A lot of time a effort put in here, great content!

thanks I still think your effort was better then mine

Oh you wanna battle now get ready to lose

bwahahahahaha

Wow, you really work on this.

Yeah took some time. But now it is time to relax. I am going to follow you bud ok

Good job @sinned. I like what you've done here.

Thank you I would of never done this stuff if I didnt talk to you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62195.97
ETH 2415.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64