Runescape, Economics, and Cryptocurrency?

in #gaming6 years ago

Every so often I catch myself drawn back into checking up on Runescape and just a few weekends ago it was a double XP weekend, so what better of a time? If I remember correctly during the weekend, there were around 140,000 players on. In the image above I’m showing 88,000 players online (pre-double xp) and 103,000 players online (post double xp). These are actually increasing numbers for the game as far as I understand. I remember over a decade ago there was around 200,000 players (including bots) and in more recent years it has lost more players.

During the double XP weekend I saw a lot of people skilling together in select areas and just like years ago.. nothing's changed and the internet trolls are everywhere.. which provided some interesting drama while I was skilling. For whatever reason I’ve always been the type to enjoy the grindy MMORPG games and have tried games like TERA, WoW, AION, The Secret World, Global Mu, and a few others. Games like these most of the time have marketplaces for exchanging items, whether they are implemented by the game or by the community on a forum.

It was these types of games that taught me a different way of thinking when it came to game currencies / items. While I played these types of games on and off, I started to pick up a few important ideas at a younger age while learning to “play the market”.

  • Time is Money & Supply and demand were terms that stand out trying to learn basic economy in these games and prices.
  • Some of these games had limited number of items released. These items became worth more and more over time as the game economy got better, less items in circulation, and players themselves driving the price up. HODL comes to mind more recently.
  • Merching/Flipping/Day Trading. Whether you spam “looking to buy/sell” comments in a crowded space or use the in-game marketplaces, buying low and selling high became a whole new game within a game.

When I played I mostly skilled and whatever I gold I made from anything, I just reinvested back into skilling or the market. When I did stop playing I always left stuff in my bank to keep myself occupied if I came back or for double xp weekends.

Some of these items that I’ve had for years have gone up in value, crashed, or stayed around the same, so it’s interesting to compare what is in demand now more or less compared to years ago and over time. I managed to get some time to mess around leveling up but sold a bit of it while the prices were high and before they crashed.

Not only did I enjoy playing this grindy ass game, it taught me basic concepts like supply and demand, inflation, day trading, and HODL’ing. I also remember buying a discontinued item a few years back for 20,000,000gp, and now it's worth around 80,000,000gp (a 4x return). I regret not buying more of them and I’m sure when it comes to cryptocurrencies, if people aren’t investing or researching into them now, they’ll regret it later as well.

After playing for a bit I think this game might make a comeback, especially if they’re pushing for the ability to play from your phone, which will increase their player base significantly opening up to that type of market. All this could also mean prices will start to get inflated again.. I’m still not sure if I’ll come back to the game as a regular but if people are thinking of coming back or starting up new, now might be the time before in-game inflation!

Sort:  

Great article. Using Game Economics and Cryptocurrency in relation to the passage of time could bridge the gap of the understanding for many young people. Especially those who are veterans of the gaming community. Makes me think of Warframe and especially Conquer.

Back in the day I was a bit of a Conquer Online fan.
image.png

It was a MMORPG that was Martial Art based. Each player chose there style and went throughout the world aiming to become a Master of Masters & become Reborn.

image.png

I learned how to collect relics and scavage of missions. Weapons, Fabrics, Ore, and more. After a few missions of holding these rare oddities and weighing each for there value I went and sat on my rug in the Marketplace. Selling my wares.

Holding the most Rares for later always was the best decision though.


~Great job Steemian! Your Article has been Resteemed ~
⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Great article. Using Game Economics and Cryptocurrency in relation to the passage of time could bridge the gap of the understanding for many young people. Especially those who are veterans of the gaming community. Makes me think of Warframe and especially Conquer.

Exactly what I'm going for. Crypto is still a new creature in itself to me, so I figured some basic terminology and background on these game economies might help shed some light into similar concepts.

Holding the most Rares for later always was the best decision though.

As for the Rares, I know Warframe itself has a very interesting game economy as well. When they put items "In the Vault" no new frames/weapons/etc will be released for months to maybe even years. This drives up prices like crazy and I've seen it first hand as well. I remember getting multiple sets of Frost Prime right before it went into the vault a while back and managed to sell it for a lot of Platinum.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64768.36
ETH 3436.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51