[Rogue Retro Gaming] Jungle Hunt (Arcade)

in #gaming6 years ago

Today we are going to dive into a game that is a side-scrolling platform in a jungle called "Jungle Hunt", it was released in 1982 by Taito in arcades, the original version was called "Jungle King" and there is also another version called Pirate Pete. This game was popular in the golden age of arcade gaming.


Source

Debuting this episode in Rogue Retro Gaming, a video with part of my gameplay.

Plot
You are an explorer (who was probably on a safari) whose girlfriend was kidnapped by cannibals and your objective is to rescue her before she is turned into human stew. For this, you have to cross a jungle to get into the natives banquette in time to not feature your girl.


Source

Graphics, sound and gameplay
The game is a 2-D scroller but the game has a little of a 3-D effect since you can see depth in the background and in one stage you can go behind some of what at first I thought to be background. Things are reasonably defined but not overly complicated graphics, it is better than most games but not in the level of others like Nintendo arcade games. The game, in general, is pretty colourful and has a blue background through.

Music didn't really stand up for me (like the Donkey Kong Jr. music) it can be repetitive but I didn't found it to be annoying, the game only really have 4 songs, of which I really liked the tribal drum song. Sound effects are standard for a game of its age and weren't annoying.

Gameplaywise, the game is pretty simple, you move your character with the joystick and the actions are performed with one button, I found this to be responsive and intuitive. In order to rescue your girlfriend from the hands of the cannibal tribe, you have to traverse a jungle, consisting in swinging in vines, avoiding or kill gators with a knife while swimming on a river, avoid rocks while running through a steep slope and jumping over the cannibal tribe to rescue your love who is hanging in a vine over a cauldron being heated by wood fire. You have only three lives, but if you die amid a level you start just behind of the point you last died.


Source

I highly recommend this game, it is simple, hard and asks you to be patient but at the same time to hurry up. It is quite enjoyable. There are a lot of ports of the game including one in 'Taito legends' on PlayStation 2 and Xbox, which can run you as low as 14 USD on eBay.


Source

Share your retro gaming stories with us!

These quick looks are my own findings and original thoughts acquire while playing the game

If you like this post and want to see more content like this please:
Upvote, comment, resteemit
Thank you for reading

Sort:  

Your post has been selected as #adsactlyspostoftheday :)

Join us in our Discord channel here to drop your post in our post promotion page, and make sure to use the @adsactly tag in the post itself.

DQmd5CQG5zLjjm2z8289qcLU6eBHJpC5FmgtR3aC1eXnhsi.png

Was this inspired by Pitfall? Or the other way around? A lot of the elements look really similar (swinging vines, and so on)!

It wasn't it just was a staple of "adventure" style gaming at the time, a lot of games of their age had it, and coupled with the fact that both games were released the same year only 4 months apart. While Pitfall! is more incline into the exploration kind of game, this is more of an action game platform similar to early Mario games. Thanks for commenting, I really hope you liked it!

A good read indeed, cool you covered in in such detail! I've lately been looking into older games myself and decided to make posts about noteworthy titles released for each year. So far I've done 1999 but haven't thought of going back to the 80's and your post makes me think I probably should (yet at the moment I am working on a post about 1990).

Great! I will subscribe to your channel, thanks for your feedback, I make quick looks of game I find interesting, I only have done for really old games for the Apple II computer, Atari 2600 and Arcade game,s because I think some retro gamers don't really go that far back and these games seem kind of forgotten.

I totally played this. It was a fun game. Very similar to Pitfall. I spent many an hour in the Arcade as a kid.

That's great! I played it too, although, through a port of the Atari 2600, it brought memories too, sometimes I think these games are not covered by retro gamers a lot and are kind not all that known nowadays.

I never played the arcade version much but I had this game for the Commodore 64. It was a pretty good conversion.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94