The Nintendo Switch is the game console I didn't know I wanted. Here's why...

in #gaming7 years ago (edited)

swtich.jpg

Last year, the rumors of the Nintendo NX (as it was known at the time) all pointed to a console/handheld hybrid system. While this had been tried in various forms over the years, the Switch is the first console to pull it off flawlessly. I thought it sounded like an interesting idea, but I had no idea how much I would come to love this console.

I'm now in my early 40's. I have a full-time job, a wife and kids. I don't have nearly as much time to veg out in front of the TV by myself, and I can't expect my family to sit by and watch me play games they have no interest in. But along comes the Switch and it makes gaming for people like myself far more accessible. And now I find myself playing far more games today than I have been recently.

Reason #1: Suspended mode

When you start a game on the Switch, it remains loaded as long as you don't quit the game or reboot the console. The benefit to that is your games are accessible within seconds. I can grab the Switch off the dock or pop off the Joycons and be in my game in literally under 10 seconds. The stack of XBox360, Wii U and PS3 games in my backlog pile seem a lot less appealing after getting used to this benefit. Firing up a game on those consoles might take 5 minutes or more before I've found my controller, made sure it was charged, fired up the console, popped in the disc and sat through the developer/tech title screens and the inevitable loading screens.

Reason #2: Portability


I can take my Switch anywhere and get a quick game fix. Not only is this nice for taking it with you on your commute, to class, etc, but even having the ability to play in bed, on the porch or (on the toilet...don't do that please). Additionally, I can pick up and play my current game while my kids or wife are watching TV or even playing games on a different console.

Combined with the lightning-fast accessibility, its become really convenient to grab the Switch and get through just one more battle before bed.

Reason #3: The Library

This is a given, considering its a Nintendo console and is home to the greatest first-party lineup available, but lots of third party and indie developers are dropping games on the Switch. While it might not have the huge production games like Overwatch, Destiny and Red Dead Redemption 2, there are many popular third party games on the way like Skyrim, Rocket League, Doom, LA Noire and Wolfenstein II.

I'll admit, I'm a Nintendo fan bordering on fanboy. I've owned every system (less 3DS) since the NES. However, the Switch has done something I didn't see coming. Its evolved with me, and I look forward to seeing what the next few years will bring to this innovative new console.


Decorative-Line-Black-PNG-Image.png

Thanks for reading. As always, upvotes, resteems and comments are appreciated!

Sort:  

I'm still amazed at how hard it is to find. I was looking for it when It first came out, and none of the stores locally still are able to keep inventory in stock. Nintendo really needs to fix its supply chain. It might be cool for the first couple weeks to keep it out of stock. But by month 7 it should consistently be in stock everywhere.

Agreed. I have seen systems in stock around me, but they've been the Splatoon 2 bundles, which are quite a bit more expensive and not a good choice for people who have no interest in Splatoon 2.

The Switch looks pretty nice. What is the battery life like? @ironshield

Most people claim its 3+ hours on a full charge. I've never actually run mine out of juice, as I primarily play it at home, but every time I'm done with it (when I'm playing in handheld mode) I just drop it back on the dock and its fully charged again.

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

This post has received a 3.86 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @retro-room. Send at least 0.100 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field to bid for a portiona of the next 100% upvote.

To support our curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Your post had been curated by the @buildawhale team and mentioned here:

https://steemit.com/buildawhale/@buildawhale/buildawhale-curation-digest-9-27-17

You have received a Whaleshare Token upvote (@officialfuzzy) thanks to @akrid and you have received an upvote from me as well.

Keep up the good work and original content, we appreciate it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 66131.28
ETH 3598.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46