Smash Bros. hits the Switch later this year and I don't really care. What’s wrong with me?

in #gaming6 years ago

smash.jpg

The Super Smash Bros series has grown to become one of Nintendo’s biggest franchises which pulls together characters from not only Nintendo properties, but popular characters from third parties as well. How could you not love a game where Pikachu, Mega Man, Cloud Strife and Bayonetta can beat the crap out of each other?

Last week in a new Direct, Nintendo announced that Super Smash Bros for the Switch was not only in development, but will see a release later this year. Initially I was excited, but as I pondered the announcement my excitement faded. It just didn’t seem like a big deal any more.

Let’s rewind



Cover Image Source: OCAD University Blogs

I was in college when the first Super Smash Bros hit the Nintendo 64. The revolutionary game took Nintendo characters and threw them into battle against each other in a unique type of fighting game where the object wasn’t to kill, but to knock the other players from the stage platforms by beating on them to wear them down.

When the first game was released, me and my friends spent countless hours duking it out with the limited roster of 12 that was available in that first game.

Just two years later the series landed on the Gamecube, with twice as many fighters and drastically improved graphics, features and gameplay. I logged tons of hours with this entry as well since it was a must-have game for game night. The follow-up on the Wii in 2008 increased the roster again by about 50% and continued to refine the presentation, features and gameplay.

In 2014, Super Smash Bros for Wii U was released and again refined the game by boosting it up to HD visuals, adding solid online play, insane 8-player matches and bringing the roster up to a staggering 58 fighters (including DLC characters).

While I really enjoyed the game on the Wii U, I didn’t play it as much as the other titles. I now have young kids and we don’t have nearly as many game nights with our friends as we did when we were in our 20’s. The game is the best its ever been, but I have fewer opportunities to play it with a room full of friends.

That brings us to today



Cover Image Source: Gitchslap

Wether Smash for the Switch is an ultimate edition of the Wii U version or a completely new game, I’ve found it hard to get myself excited for it because as I get older and have fewer game nights with friends, its become apparent that Smash will end up being a game I solo for a few hours and eventually only break out occasionally when we have friends over who want to play. With a roster and selection of stages that’s starting to get a little too familiar after the last few sequels, its starting to feel stale.

The last game in the series let us have a battle between Mario, Sonic, Mega Man and Pac Man on the screen at the same time! This would absolutely blow people’s minds 10+ years ago, but the novelty seems to have worn off. At least, it has to me.

Its still gonna be huge though



Cover Image Source: Engadget

This is simply my experience with the series. Younger people who have more opportunities to game with friends and more spare time will push this game to sell 10 million copies and loads more Switch consoles. I’m unsure if I’ll be picking it up though. With how many hours we put into the last game, I think we’ll be more likely to break out the Wii U than upgrade to the newest game when we want to scratch that Super Smash Bros itch.

That being said, the next-next game in the series is what I’m excited about. By the time Smash gets a release on Nintendo’s follow-up to the Switch, my daughters will be old enough to play with us.

And I can’t wait to throw down with them once they’re old enough to play!

What do you think? Is the Smash Bros. series important to you? Are you ready for the new version on the Switch or are you getting too old or bored with it to get excited? Let's discuss!


Decorative-Line-Black-PNG-Image.png

Thanks for reading. As always, upvotes, resteems and comments are appreciated!

Cover Image Source: Engadget

Sort:  

Melee is still my favorite. The new games are exciting, but I don't think they will ever make a game that has so many advanced techniques like melee.

You pretty much summed up what a lot of gaming dads (myself included) are going through:
-spend numerous game nights with friends as teens
-spend countless game nights with friends as young adults with disposable income going into the latest games
-spend way less game nights with friends as new fathers
-start playing less multiplayer games and more single-player ones
-anxiously wait for your kids to grow up so you can properly introduce them to video games

Your article hits home with me regarding how growing up and having responsibilities as adults affect our gaming habits. I spent so much time building up a game collection for my game nights and now that I have it, realized both my friends and I no longer have the free time we used to have to enjoy them. Maybe when our kids are old enough to keep themselves busy can we go back to the past and beat each other up in Super Smash Bros.

Thanks for sharing with us.

That's about the exact progression I went through:

  • Lots of single-player gaming as a teen
  • Tons of single and multiplayer gaming with friends as a young adult
  • Cut back on gaming after getting married
  • Drastically cut back after having young kids
  • Gaming will increase again after kids get older.

I have gotten my wife into gaming over the course of our marriage, so we've played through nearly every Lego game and lots of other light co-op games. We also do some pen and paper RPG gaming, which lets us socialize with our geeky friends and spend time together while 'gaming.' Not quite the same as sitting around the couch playing Mario Kart or Smash Bros, but great in its own right.

I'm planning a post about pen & paper roleplaying in the near future. Its really overlooked IMO.

I take the point. It is tough trying to get the boys round for Smash and drinks. I also felt the fragmentation of WiiU and 3DS versions in the last iteration. I think the big pull this time will be the unified experience and, for me playing a few matches against workmates on lunch break and then concentrating on the single player at home. Also my son is growing as a gamer, I hope he will start beating me soon! ;)

My daughters are 3 and 1, so they're not quite up to challenging us in Smash yet. My 3-year-old will play Smash, but its mostly standing in one spot, spamming a single attack. She still loves it though and is learning many of the characters.

Haha sounds familiar... Luckily my son is 6 and getting over the "I died, do this bit for me" stage.
I was pleasantly surprised he gave Afterburner a go ("I want to play that aeroplane game daddy!") and got to stage 6 on his second turn! :D

@pokeparadox @retro-room Parents usually don't want their kids to grow up too fast but listening to you guys makes me forget that sometimes. My kids are currently too young to play but hopefully, by the time they grow up, I'll be ready to teach them the "way of the NES".

Trust me, once they get a bit older I'll be running them through the history of gaming, from the 2600 to current-gen.

I grew up with Atari and the NES and so will my girls ;)

Melee always and forever.

Yeah Nintendo makes games that encourage social activity but we are in an increasingly less social world. Its unfortunate

No online game will ever match a room full of people gaming on the same TV. Its just a different and much more personal, social experience.

I imagine if I ever become a father my schedule would become like this...

I really love Pokemon and while I never played Smash Bro. I liked while watching it's videos (it's way of battle is interesting too, that there's no HP but uses point system.)

I liked your talk about your family, it's obvious that you love them like or more than gaming (hopefully the latter.)
Your and @w0011y post talking about the same topic had to be in my Daily Picks.

I have been playing Smash since the N64 days as well! I always mained my Red Kirby and I understand your point of view. Thats what online play is for if you cannot find anyone to play locally. Hopefully the online infrastructure will improve for sure... But I am still excited for Smash on Switch! Wondering which newcomers will come in Smash is what excites me the most! Great post and upvoted!

my favorite is Snake

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59601.30
ETH 2583.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48