Polymega might be the ultimate clone console, with support for both cartridge and disc-based games!

in #gaming6 years ago

polymega.jpg

Retro gaming clone consoles have been a thing for about a decade now, with countless machines from the NES-clone Generation Nex to the new Atari 2600 clone, the Retron 77. But what about games released on disc?

As I predicted way back in January, we're finally going to see a clone console that plays disc-based games! While it's not hitting the market until early next year, preorders for the machine are up now. Its not some phantom Kickstarter project; this is a fully-funded company that will start delivering these machines to us next year.

Introducing Polymega


Polymega is an interesting machine that takes a unique approach to the clone console thing. The core of the system is a disc-based machine that plays games from a variety of consoles. Rather than hosting a bunch of cartridge slots, the console instead uses interchangeable modules to support various cartridge-based systems.

Not only does it upscale all of your games to HD resolution, it allows you to install your games directly on the machine so they're available without the disc or cartridge! You can put your full game library on this console and browse it using the Polymega's slick interface. Not only can you install your own games, the system will have a digital marketplace where you can download retro games to add to your collection.

This is truly tempting for me, since I rarely touch the Sega CD library because setting up the Genesis with the CD attachment is a huge pain. After I've tracked down all the needed cables, I don't have any time left to play. This makes it so much easier -- just slide in the disc and you're good to go!

Here's what you get


The base system supports the following CD-based game consoles:

  • Sega CD / Mega CD
  • Sega Saturn (US/JP/EU)
  • TurboGrafx CD / PC-Engine CD
  • Neo Geo CD (NA/JP)
  • PS1 (US/JP/EU)
  • sadly, no Dreamcast support

Modules can be added to support these cart-based systems:

  • NES (US/EU) + NES inspired controller
  • SNES (US/EU/JP) + SNES inspired controller
  • Genesis/Mega Drive/32X + Genesis inspired controller
  • TurboGrafx-16/PC Engine/SuperGrafx + TG16 inspired controller

Each module also includes a handful of built-in games.

The base console sells for $249, each module will be $59 and bundles with extra modules and controllers range from $459-$599. All are available to preorder now at discounted prices, and will be released on April 1, 2019.

They should have picked a different date to release this console.


Decorative-Line-Black-PNG-Image.png

Thanks for reading. As always, upvotes, resteems and comments are appreciated!

Cover Image Source

Sort:  

Sounds interesting but at that price I would rather build a PC for the purpose. You could do everything except play your original cartridges but there are cheaper ways to do that...

That's true. Thought the "one console to rule them all" aspect is alluring. I haven't touched my NES, SNES or Genesis since I bought a Retron5. I have a Sega CD and a Saturn, but digging them out, finding all the cords and controllers is a hassle. I'm awfully tempted to get this thing. If it supported Dreamcast, I'd have one preordered now.

I've had my eye on the Polymega since it was announced as the RetroBlox a year or two ago. The modular style is truly a great idea and allows players to pick and choose the systems they want to focus on.

The kicker though was the support for disc based games and the Turbographx! I only own one Turbographx game but now I'd be able to play it!!

I'm also a big PS1 collector as well and have an easy HD solution was a huge plus! And it opens up the door to other consoles I've never had like the Sega CD and now the Saturn (though I did just pick myself up my first Saturn). :)

The nice thing about PS1 is that all PS2 and PS3 consoles will play PS1 discs.

Congrats on picking up a Saturn! I'll warn you, games for the Saturn and Turbo CD aren't cheap.

It is true haha, I could always use my PS2 and PS3 to play my precious PS1 games. I just wish Sony added PS1 backwards compatibility to the PS4!

Tell me about it, I've been spending the last 3 weeks trying to figure out what my first Saturn game would be... talk about sticker shock!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 67020.94
ETH 3270.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.62