Another World Review & Comparison - Rerez

in #gaming7 years ago

maxresdefault.jpg

Watch the video right now with Viewly:
https://upload.view.ly/view/useruploads/b15c--2017-09-22--another-world-review-comparison-rerez

So it's the early ‘90s and I'm at home playing Sega Genesis and my mom comes home and gives me a present — a copy of Out of This World for the Sega Genesis. I still own my original copy and it's still one of my favorite games ever released for that console. You may not recognize the game from its title because this game has had a few. In North America it was called Out of This World and in Japan it was called Outer World but for the rest of this article I'm going to be calling the game by its original title — Another World.

The game originally came out on the Amiga back in 1991 and around that time it also came out on pretty much every PC platform that existed and every console as well. Today I'm going to be focusing on Another World 15th Anniversary Edition released in 2006 for PC.

Capture1.PNG

The game begins with a young physicist named Lester Knight Chaykin who drives up to this barren looking laboratory to run a particle accelerator experiment. While running the experiment a thunderstorm starts up and a bolt of lightning interferes with his equipment and instantly sends him to an alien planet. The game is pretty much a platformer with action and adventure elements. Why this game has stuck with me for so many years is that it has some of the most amazing cinematics I had ever seen. Most of the games at the time focused on gameplay and levels, especially on consoles, and never really focused on building a story or introducing you to a new world. Another World really stands out because of that. With no heads-up display or introduction to the controls you're forced to learn and discover the game all on your own and that's a really big deal because that's something different that a lot of games weren't really trying out.

Capture2.PNG

15th Anniversary Remaster vs. Original PC Version

The 15th anniversary edition is my favorite version of this game that exists to date. You have the ability to run the game as it originally would have looked back in 1991 with the same graphics and sounds and the game still holds up playing it that way. This new version of the game also gives you the ability to improve the resolution, add more detailed backgrounds and increase the sound quality. It makes for a fun experience for me at least because it feels like I'm reliving a classic with a whole new facelift. The one thing I noticed that was different from my original Genesis copy was that the music that played during sequences wasn’t there anymore. But in all honesty playing the game from start to finish without that music adds to the atmosphere, really pulling you into the experience.

Capture3.PNG

Without a doubt the 15th anniversary edition of this game is the version you should get if you want to relive this classic. If you're looking to find one of the original versions of this game on the PC or console it's still a great game to pick up and play and I wouldn't sell my Genesis copy for the world. But I have to warn everybody that wants to go out and buy the boxed PC version of the 15th anniversary edition it's got one of the worst worst DRM practices ever. You can only install the game five times and it has to sync up to an activation server and if that activation server ever goes offline you're never going to be able to install that game ever again. There's a whole bunch of websites that offer a DRM free copy of this game and trust me it's well worth it.

Another World 15th Anniversary Edition is amazing, it takes everything from the classic and improves upon it. And if you're one of those diehards that wants to play the game the original way well you can still do that. I love this game and I can't recommend it enough. It's simply a must play.


Follow me on Steemit @Rerez for more gaming posts!
Rerez.gif

Sort:  

Cool. I could not forget the 90's because this was the time when I started to play video games with Nintendo.

Cool review. I really loved this game too, and thanks for calling it 'Out of This World' in your article. ;) For anyone that doesn't know, there's a cool documentary on the making of this game on YouTube -

Amazing, thanks for sharing! Here is part 2:

And a walkthrough I think (1h3m)

Hope you're enjoying the game. I do like the concept of having to figure out all of the move-sets on your own, as opposed to the gaming just showing you how to do everything. In my childhood these type of games were the one's that challenged me the most, and I would always comeback to after years to see if my new ways of thinking would help me beat the game quicker...or just beat it in general -ie the Lion King of Sega Game Gear. xD

Excellent post, I liked it, I follow you to read what you publish, you pass by my profile, maybe something that interests you too, keep posting like this :D

best game,

great! upvoted.

I know how you feel about the 90's and gaming. I miss Master of Monsters for the SG.

it has some of the most amazing cinematics I had ever seen.

I played it on iPad for the first time and it was indeed amazing.. and rather difficult! Start all over again etc. No map...

The one thing I noticed that was different from my original Genesis copy was that the music that played during sequences wasn’t there anymore.

Wow, I'd like to hear the music! Good point.

I wanted to share with you some interesting findings:

  • I didn't watch the video but read the article first
  • I then watched the interview with the author
  • I found the 2nd part and watched that too
  • I posted that 2nd part and watched briefly a walkthrough
  • Then I read some of your other posts
  • Then I watched the actual video on View.ly and thus I'm wondering:

Did you transcribe the video? Because it worked pretty well. I ask this because I thought people would like to read podcasts and I made a few posts about how to do that. You see YouTube automatically creates subtitles of everything what you say and it's quite easy to make into a transcription if you know how (like I said I upload it to YouTube and then use the srt files put them through regex and shell tools)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67865.46
ETH 3258.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64