Challenge: Hill Climb Racing

in #gaming7 years ago

Years ago I played this little game on my phone, and spent many hours playing it. I've since spent many hours playing it's sequel, which is just as addictive, possibly even more fun, and has even more options.

link to the game - free to play, requires flash.

This was my first time playing the original game on a PC instead of the phone, and there are a couple of differences in the controls, and the re-activeness to them that I had to get used to, but it's essentially the same.

I have to give thanks to @necromortis for organising this competition and help me waste a bunch of time over the last day or two.

As this is also my entry to the competition, here's the terrible photo of my current record

2018-01-15 20.16.10 HDR.jpg
There's just so much light that a photo of the screen is really difficult to get a good image of. Pretty sure it says 4656 m for the distance. Not actually my record shown below.

Highway Record.png
Much clearer numbers in a screenshot. Records shown: Arctic: 1597 m. Highway: 4688

Now, I've played a reasonable number of runs to do this, having gathered enough coins in the original map to fully upgrade my first car (Cabriolet), and then purchase each of the additional levels to get to the Highway (fourth level), and then used the Cabriolet to earn the coins to upgrade the Sportscar.

It's a ridiculously addictive game, especially for anyone that just wants to do a little bit better than last time. I restrict my play on the phone (of the sequel) to 'only when a chest needs opening' and 'only enough to refill the chest storage'. I could easily play quite a bit more of this simple and quick game, with the knowledge that any single run isn't going to take more than a few minutes, so it's easy to fill in time with, and easy to walk away from to do something time critical and come back to it afterwards.

Farm and Desert Records.png
Level selection also shows current record. Farm: 947 m, Desert: 780 m

Cave Mars Moon Records.png
More Levels - Cave: 782 m, Mars: 505 m, Moon 310 m

The moon level is amusing for the super low gravity, but it's also difficult to judge the angle the car needs to be on when the land disappears off the bottom of the screen. Good for flips though.

Screenshot 2018-01-15 15.43.53.png
Airborne, but in control, part way through a run on the Arctic level

Cave is one of the levels that each car has an actual maximum possible, where the space between the roof and floor becomes too narrow for the vehicle to actually fit between them. The roof also makes is much more interesting/difficult, especially as you get further along and the ceiling gets closer.

Screenshot 2018-01-15 20.18.06.png
What's that above us? better not crash into the ceiling!

I hope you all enjoy this, and sorry for all the lost productivity as you get addicted to the game

A Footer - Ratticus Upgoats Transparent Background.png

Sort:  

Nice post @ratticus .
I always vote you :D
Please vote me back and follow.
Love your post guys..

Thanks for stopping by, and for the votes. I've added you to see what you post

Congrats on your achievement @ratticus :) I love trying to outperform your result.

Good luck! I'm pretty sure I did much better back when I had it on the phone, but that had more than a couple of days of play built up also.

Well, the mobile game is a bit different. More points were achieved much easier. I'm struggling to overcome a slope on the highway at about 4465-72 m. I believe you are the winner this time.

Think I crashed a bunch of times on that very hill. Got over it a few times somehow too though, which may be the deciding factor by the sounds of it

Hah.. that's the turning point. If I also somehow overcome that hill... then I have chances to improve the result.

I think we should organize another contest with the mobile game. Or suggest it to @necromortis.

Good thing I rarely pick up new games these days then XD

goatsig

Probably :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54787.37
ETH 2302.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35