Steemit In Space - Kerbal Colonization Lets Play! [EP 1] - Getting My Feet Wet

in #gaming8 years ago (edited)

Welcome everyone to my new let's play series of Kerbal Space Program! KSP is a simulation sandbox game that puts you in control of a race of little green men that want to explore their solar system! You can build ships, rockets, space stations, rovers, and colonies with parts that fit together like legos, then launch, fly, and land them using realistic orbital, atmospheric, and gravitational physics across a total of 15 planets and moons in the standard version of the game.


Kerbals are a proud race. Even the most disastrous failure is a learning opportunity, and explosions are cool!

So I thought to myself, "What better way to play Kerbal than to harness the power of Steem for spaceflight?" and thus this series was born. I've put in quite a large number of hours into KSP over the years, but with the recent 1.2 update I realized I'm a bit rusty gameplay wise, so I decided to start small. First, let's build ourselves a satellite.


The Steemit flag provides constant inspiration to the engineers as they build

With the satellite all packed up and ready to go, chock full of scanning equipment, power, and an ion thruster, I'm ready to stuff it into a rocket!


A little over-engineered, but I'd rather be safe than sorry when it comes to starting out a new playthrough!

And now comes the fun part, getting it to space! I considered just doing a long GIF, but KSP is more fun to watch in all its glory, so I went ahead and recorded a full video to kick off a new youtube series! In this first video, I go over some of the basics of KSP while I get the satellite into a proper orbit.


Note My apologies for the brief interruption near the end of the video, I didn't realize I was recording while in a voice chat channel!

What types of space exploration should Steemit fund? Let me know in the comments below!

Image Sources
In-game images of Kerbal Space Program used with permission via EULA.
All other images by me.

Sort:  

I haven't thought about KSP in forever! I have got to download it again and try running it. The only problem is my computer is garbage. :/

Yeah, with the number of mods I'm running, x64 is the only way to go. They've done some memory optimizations lately, so the stock game should be smooth if you can run it in 64 bit.

Love kerbal bro!

I always upvote KSP!

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

awesome!!!! THis just made my day. I love KSP.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57164.70
ETH 2987.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.27