Guild Wars 2 - Christmas is here!

in #gaming7 years ago

It is that time of year again, where Divinity's Reach gets transformed into a winter wonderland!

gw226.jpg

Plenty to do here, with most of the activities centered in The Crown Pavilion area. Through all of these activities, we can earn plenty of gifts. These gifts contain food, utility items, candy canes and snowflakes. There are new snowflakes as currency this year.

If you're familiar with Guild Wars 2, you might remember all the different snowflakes from years before. You can transform all of those into one, single new snowflake. This is one of the currencies for this year's festive items. You can also trade in a 1000 of them for one snow diamond. These are used for the more premium items. Namely a pet, 20 slot bag and an Enchanted Snowball, which will encase your character in snow. You can even purchase different colors for your snowball!

Plenty of old items have returned aswell and personally, I have been spending most of my karma on the Festive Bags of Materials. They give cloth and wood of different values and boy do I need wood. I've used so much in the process of working towards my legendary staff, my stocks were very, very low. I'm still not done with it, but atleast now I've managed to re-stock a bit.

gw233.jpg

I've spend some time on the jumping puzzle. This is the only one of the festival jumping puzzles I am actually able to finish. My boyfriend taught me two years ago, when we just met ingame and he wasn't my boyfriend yet. I had to challenge myself to complete it again this year.

I've also been helping out the poor Ho-Ho-Tron with some fund donations and dolyak protecting. In return, the dolyak drops gifts from time to time. Seems like a fair trade, right?

There are plenty of other events I still need to explore and I will get to them, but later. My boyfriend will have to join me for some. Luckily, this event will last for a while!

Oh, and new this year are festive mount skins! I happened to run into one of my guildies showing off her mount skin in Divinity's Reach:

gw228.jpg

Cute, right?

Anyway, I'll probably zoom in on a couple of the festivities in future posts.

Enjoy the holiday fun in whichever game you're playing at the moment!




Thanks for stopping by! If you've enjoy this article, try my other sites:
| Photo shop | Foodblog | Photo gallery | Twitter | Twitch | YouTube |

Become my patron and earn yourself a mention or permanent place in my blog posts!


Fair warning: Copy/paste comment and obvious bot comments will get flagged.

Sort:  

I loved Guild Wars 2 til i got to the end game, I'm a fan of the grind, but man it was just insane in GW 2 farming for the best gear, specially with the new expansion(at the time)

Oh yeah, I just don't care about the best gear. You can get pretty good gear relatively easily with crafting and after that, it'll just be a bonus if I ever manage to get it.

I'm working on the legendary raven staff now, but I'm not in any rush. It's fun to do achievements from time to time which works towards the staff :D

Im a giant whore for getting the best gear though, so i saw the grind required at the end and sort of just backed away, then again like I said, i'm a giant whore needs to have the best gear ever haha

Haha, well I can certainly understand that feeling from back when I was hardcore raiding in WoW :D

Well im also a crafting whore, i spent hundreds of hours in Aion trying to forge the best gear, so in the interest of my sanity i stayed away from getting too deep into Guild wars 2, i do miss it sometimes though.

Oh my gosh, yes I really love crafting in games! I hated it in Black Desert Online though. That wasn't any fun, that was just annoying. I like how you can discover new recipes in GW2, but really, the legendary weapons basically need everything. Crafting, PvP, PvE, WvW, achievements... That's why I'm taking it very slow, because not everything is that much fun. For the dungeons part, I basically waited for my boyfriend to drag me with him.

Just a quick question, how is the state of the game atm?

I checked it out at release all those years ago and might consider going back. I have that good old MMORPG itch again...

Well, with the expansions, there is a lot of new PvE content available (you have to buy those to play this new content though). It's pretty fun with all of the events that keep popping up everywhere and the areas are beautiful! I can't tell you much about PvP, because I never really like that much. WvW though is still quite awesome. They combine servers to make sure there are actually people running around on the borders, so it's a bit more eventful.

Thanks for the insight, just one more question:

What about the difficulty in PvE? I don't like MMO's that are too easy.

Hmm well it depends. Plenty of PvE is easy to do, but you can do dungeons which can be quite tough. Especially the Fractal dungeons, because you can unlock harder difficulties up to crazy hard. Not my favorite part, but for those who like a PvE challenge... :D

Alright. Pretty convinced I'm gonna dive in around the holidays in a few weeks. Thanks!

Great, hope you'll enjoy it!

BTW, in case you want to play something else this holiday period: GOG.com is having its big Winter Sales and I might a list of my top 7 picks. Just thought you might be interested.

https://steemit.com/gaming/@gamesjoyce/gog-com-winter-sales-7-game-deals-you-shouldn-t-miss-imo

Ooh thanks! I think I still have The Witcher 3 somewhere, though I'm not sure if I'll still be able to play it. I never did try it.

meet a person in a game and maintain a lasting emotional relationship; that is the greatest achievement of any player , there are so many stories so sad and frustrating love relationships within the games.

I thought that the games decorated them as of December 25, the decorations are very nice.

Yeah, we got very lucky to meet in GW2 on the battlefield!

I think every game has different times for the events. Guild Wars 2 started already :D

I like your post and have resteemed it to my 2800 followers

Power Resteem Service - The powerhouse for free resteems, paid resteems, random resteems

Good photos, I am a photographer, it passes for my blog and sees my content, I hope that it should be of your taste :D greetings

Thanks, though these are screenshots from a game, not photos. I also see you copy/paste this text to many blog posts, which means I'm flagging your comment. I did warn for it:

Fair warning: Copy/paste comment and obvious bot comments will get flagged.

I suggest you stop copy/pasting comments with no real meaning to the blog you post them on. Instead, read the posts and write meaningful comments. You might write less, but you'll piss off less people and maybe even make friends and get followers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59236.61
ETH 2600.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42