Sort:  

All of Ryan's games are really good. Both this and Above and Below are really cool. And the workers in this game, and in Islebound, can be used in Above and Below. They are like a mini-expansion for A&B

Great Review!! I feel like going and playing it! ;-)
It is an area I don't know much about but your passion and knowledge can be felt all through your blog.
Just tell us... Are these games suitable for kids?? Thanks

Most of Ryan's games are suitable for kids around 9 and up. I would start with Above and Below. All the cool storytelling and neat creatures to recruit but with more streamlined mechanics. It is easier to grasp than Near and Far... fewer moving parts.

It took my 11 year old daughter four or five games to truly get Near and Far after having played A&B and other middle-weight games.

But, she got it so well that Friday night she and I finished up our "Character" mini-campaign. I was up 15 points, over two games, which is a lot when a good score is in the mid-50's.

She beat me in that game by 16 and won the whole campaign by a point.

The smile could be seen from orbit.

Mine, of course, proud poppa and all that. She was kinda happy too.

You know, I shall take a deep look into these games... thanks again!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66753.89
ETH 3256.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34