The Daily Backlog 127

in #gaming5 years ago

The right way to celebrate a couple backlog completions, is to add a few more games to the pile. 

META-COMPLETION!

Good day backloggers!! Now that a new week is upon us, it’s time to get back to the grind, as good or as bad as that may sound. But, it also means it’s time to reflect on all the backloggery that took place during our days of rest. With which, I’ve apparently been quite busy!! What with another two completions added to the list and all. And maybe a few additions as well…

First up, let’s talk about those completions! With METAGAL topping off the weekend during my Let’s Backlog stream last Thursday! When I first picked up METAGAL, it was out of pure curiosity. I’m always looking for games that try to bring back the Mega Man nostalgia, but to be perfectly honest, I didn’t have much hope for it.

However, after diving in and really putting it to the test, it turned out to be much better than I expected. The pixel art brought back memories of playing the GBA/DS Inti Creates Mega Man games like Mega Man Zero and Mega Man ZX. And the unique abilities you gained from each of the bosses were fun to use and actually quite clever. It may have lacked some of the polish you might find in your typical Capcom developed action platformer, but for what it was, I had a blast. And I’ll give it props for adding replayability by allowing you to play as each of the “GAL” bosses after you beat the game. I mean, I certainly can’t complain about being able to clear a game from the backlog in a single sitting either!

If you’re curious about METAGAL, you can find it on the Switch, Xbox One and PlayStation 4 for $4.99!

Voxelcrawler

Next up, is a game I’ve been playing with my wife and son for the past couple of weeks. I never really spoke about it since it isn’t technically on my backlog (it’s a Game Pass game), but it’s one of those games that surprised me and I needed to at least mention it! And that game is Riverbond. A top-down, isometric-ish, hack-n-slash dungeon crawler with fancy voxel style graphics.

It was a pretty straight forward game, where all you really do is select from its 9 different dungeons and then hack your way through waves of enemies before you beat a boss. But I think that’s where a lot of the appeal came from. It made picking it up and playing it with my son very easy and it didn’t have a lot of systems to try and learn. That and all three of us could play it on a single screen, couch co-op style!

It was super fun to play, with just enough coordination between your teammates required to make it hectic and hilarious. Also, you can unlock a ton of cute characters, including the likes of Shovel Knight and Juan Aguacate from Guacamelee, so that’s already an A+ in my book!

You can find Riverbond right now on Xbox One and Playstation 4 for $24.99. It’s also available on the Xbox Game Pass, which may be the best place to get it, since that $25 asking price seems a bit steep.

Two Down, Four Up

Of course, I can’t have completions from the ole backlog without also having some additions to impede my progress! And this time around it was from a good variety of indie games that I couldn’t possibly pass up. The first three being due to some killer deals on the most recent Switch sale: Xeodrifter, Mutant Mudds Collection, and Super Star Path. Then the final one, being a game my wife was dying to play after we finished the first one, Overcooked 2!!!

Xeodrifter and Mutant Mudds were obvious choices for me, because I’ve had my eye on them for a while now. I always loved the simple aesthetics of Atooi’s games and they seemed like perfect additions to my Switch library. Not to mention, with both being action platformers, and Xeodrifters being a Metroidvania, I honestly couldn’t let them slip through my fingers. It also helped that I was able to pick both up for basically a steal.

Super Star Path on the other hand, was due to my relatively recent obsession with the wonderfully talented indie developer DYA Games. Who brought us the super addicting and charming Strikey Sisters, that I played earlier in the year. Now, I’m on a mission to try and own all of their games and Super Star Path was next on the list. Like most of their other games, Super Star Path is a mixture of two genres and this time around it’s a shoot em’ up crossed with a match 3 puzzler. If it’s as polished and arcadey as Strikey Sisters was, I think I’m in for a treat and I can’t wait to dive in!

Finally, Overcooked 2 was a game that my wife and I have been drooling over since playing the first game. With its hectic and zany co-op action, it was only a matter of time before we twisted each others rubber arm and pick the sequel up. So far it seems just as fun as its predecessor, with the added bonus of including fun new features. It also has just as much argu.. I mean, cooperation as it did before so expect some swearing and cheering all within the same play session! Ghost Town Games really turned the charm and polish up to eleven this time around too, so I’m definitely excited to play more!!

Day One Hundred and Twenty Seven

Well my friends, I think that’ll do it for today! Lot’s of fun games knocked off the list and few others to look forward to playing in the future! I’m still plugging away at Bloodstained: Ritual of the Night and with Overcooked 2 and Super Bomberman R on the docket, there’ll be lots to talk about in the coming days. So look forward to that!

Until tomorrow folks, have a great rest of your Monday!!


Currently Playing

Bloodstained: Ritual of the Night (PlayStation 4)

Overcooked 2 (PlayStation 4)

Super Bomberman R (Xbox One)

Total Backlogged Games: 733 …It just keeps growing!! 

Total Completed Games: 34 …At least this is growing to...


Want to contribute to the website? You can send your submissions to the below email!

[email protected]

Want to know what other shenanigans I’ve been up to? Then follow me on Twitter @BacklogOdyssey

And you can keep tabs on my backlog by checking out the Backlog Odyssey Backloggery game list!



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://www.backlogodyssey.com/the-daily-backlog-127/
Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here
Your post was upvoted by the @archdruid gaming curation team in partnership with @curie to support spreading the rewards to great content. Join the Archdruid Gaming Community at https://discord.gg/6yD2Emr. Good Game, Well Played!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11