Nintendo Classic Mini: Super Nintendo Entertainment System Unboxing!

in #gaming6 years ago

Yesterday I went to pick up my new gaming companion - Nintendo Classic Mini: Super Nintendo Entertainment System aka SNES Mini. A day before yesterday, my bf found some discount on its older brother NES Mini in the e-shop and didn't hesitate to share it with me. However, we didn't get this mini version of the NES console in the end. When I went through the e-shop, I came across SNES Mini. Unlike NES, there are two controllers in the pack, but fewer games. I wanted to buy one of these, but which to choose?

Most games, except Mario and some titles I know by name, I didn't know. So the decision was on my boyfriend's shoulders, and he chose SNES version with 21 games. He said that the games are better than the NES ones, but he had to ask his friend first. Without hesitation, I ordered it and yesterday after work I ran to the shop to get it. I simply couldn't wait to try the games.

I had to laugh in my mind at the store, because the shopkeepers were enthusiastic about my purchase, and they immediately probed how much it cost and that they would probably buy it too.

So let's look at SNES Mini together!


At first a photo of the box. You can see in the first photo that it is really small. Or I just have a giant head.

And on the back, we can see what games it contains. But one is missing. I think it is Star Fox 2, which is opened only after finishing one level from the Star Fox 1 (or not, my bf told it).

Well, it's not quite readable because it was evening so there is a list of games:

  1. Contra III: The Alien Wars
  2. Donkey Kong Country
  3. EarthBound
  4. Final Fantasy III
  5. F-ZERO
  6. Kirby Super Star
  7. Kirby’s Dream Course
  8. The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past
  9. Mega Man X
  10. Secret of Mana
  11. Star Fox
  12. Star Fox 2
  13. Street Fighter II Turbo: Hyper Fighting
  14. Super Castlevania IV
  15. Super Ghouls ’n Ghosts
  16. Super Mario Kart
  17. Super Mario RPG: Legend of the Seven Stars
  18. Super Mario World
  19. Super Metroid
  20. Super Punch-Out!!
  21. Yoshi’s Island

And finally some unboxing!


Every single thing in the box has its own bag and place. Everything fits perfectly. There is absolutely no unused space.

The package includes:

  • SNES Mini console
  • 2x controller
  • HDMI cable
  • USB power cable
  • Manual
  • Some code for 300 Nintendo platinum points (it was probably placed in the manual)

But it doesn't end with the opening of the box, of course, because everything is precisely mummified. So, more fun starts when removing bags.


Controllers at their best

And finally, the console!


The console is truly mini, and it's a perfect replica of its predecessor. Well, of course, some things lose their meaning in this century and are just such a design element.

Then quite a fun situation happened because we were unable to figure out where the controllers' plugs are. We knew it would be under the cap, but we didn't find out how to open it.

Fortunately, I turned the console upside down and found a place to open it. We were so blind...

And after creating the photographic documentation, we finally put the console into operation. The cables are long enough to play games comfortably from your couch. We put the console on the table and started playing. But of course, it depends on your room. Otherwise, you will have to sit on the floor. However, SNES Mini has longer cables than NES Mini.

We were quite disappointed that the manufacturer didn't include a power adapter. But you don't have to despair, the one you're using to charge your phone is enough.

After plugging in, just turn on the console and start playing.

Unfortunately, I don't have a capture card, because it is a pretty expensive gadget, and webcam recording was so bad that I had to find some pictures on the internet:


Menu Source

In display settings, you can select the display quality (the CRT option really amused me) and the design of the frame that you will see around the games. They are not widescreen, and part of the screen would be empty otherwise.


Display settings Source

Playing games


You're going to stone me now, but all these retro consoles and games have missed me. At home, we didn't have anything like that, and I could play just some educational games for kids. Buying a SNES Mini will, therefore, be a unique chance for me to catch up on my gaming education. But it will be quite difficult, because I'm not used to this controller, so every game is incredibly hard for me.

Yesterday, we just tried two-player games, and for now, my favorite is Kirby. Other games were quite hard. I will have to train a bit. But it's a shame that I can't stream them or at least create screenshots :(

Price


If you are curious about the price, on the eBay the console costs about $ 74. But we bought it in a Czech e-shop at $ 67 in conversion. A fairly decent price for such a machine, but if you find that 21 games are few, there is a way to hack it and upload more games.




Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pipiczech
Twitter: https://twitter.com/pipiczech
Patreon: https://www.patreon.com/pipiczech
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC3i1_7mmUZUaC9Lpca1PMFw
Twitch:




May the seed be with you! :D

Sort:  

Hey, STEEMPUNK-NET here

We support players and games on STEEMIT. We like your Post!
We left you a few votes. We hope that's okay ;-)

The first MMORPG on STEEMIT

STEEMPUNK-NET is the first massively multiplayer online role-playing game on STEEMIT. We hope to meet you on our server!

STEEMPUNKNET Discord

Do you want profit and still be helpful?
Delegate some SteemPower to @steempunknet : [50] [100] [200] [500] [1000]

NES & SNES mini is what I call doing a better job than the free Emulators out there...

Shame, that not many publishers re-release their older games in a quality that is Superior to what free emulators can make you do.

I really like the fact that you simply plug it into power and TV and can play right away. No downloads, no updates, just pure fun without waiting.

It really is great seeing companies get in on stuff like this. So many wonderful old games you just can’t get in a legit fashion these days to work on modern hardware without doing your own moding and running an emulator. I never did play this system so I know of Star Fox but not the second version of it. Ah I do miss doing a barrel roll for just the sake of it.

Yeah, I really love that there is no need to set up or download something. You just plug it into a TV and can start playing.

All of these games are completely new to me, so it'll be a long journey to try them all. I didn't say finish, because I'm not sure about my retro gaming skill :D

My kids have one.... although they never use it as i am constantly on it... still trying to beat Starfox 2.

Poor kids :D but I can see myself in the future playing games and with toys of my children.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

I wanted to get one of these, but I was dissapointed due to the little selection of games, maybe if the update it in the future I will give it another chance

Well, there is a way to "hack" the console and upload more games into it.

the best console ever! nowday consoles are a shadow of this that started everything!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63788.86
ETH 2476.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66