Spells of Genesis : The case of the mystery blockchain card donation 🕵️

in #gaming6 years ago

So, 8 days ago, I booted up the Spells of Genesis app on my phone, and noticed I had an extra blockchain card !!!


all images of Spells of Genesis assets are the property of Everdreamsoft

That made me curious, so I checked my linked Book of Orb account, on which my Counterparty blockchain assets are stored, and lo and behold, not only was the extra blockchain card there:

But there was also 10 BCY in my wallet... and I've never purchased any, nor to my knowledge participated in any giveaways or given out my Book of Orbs address anywhere !

I've googled around, and the only thing I could discover was that Kingdom of Waters Court originated here:

So, how did this "limited" edition card from 2016 suddenly wind up in my Counterparty wallet ?

Even more curious than before, I proceeded to follow the most obvious breadcrumb trail available.

##A clue ? The addresses !

Both the BCY and the WATERSCOURT (the name of the card on the blockchain) card came from two different addresses
(BCY and WATERSCOURT addresses) that:

  • Received 3,640 BCY and 364 WATERSCOURT, respectively, both from this address, that has an immense balance of SoG cards.
  • Then proceeded to send out, respectively, 10 BCY and 1 WATERSCOURT to 364 addresses.

I haven't checked, but I assume the two addresses send the cards and BCY to the same selection of 364 addresses.

I also saw that in the Issuances column of the main address (which I'm pretty sure must be Spells of Genesis' main address for asset creation, given it's capable of creating SoG assets) it created new 1,500 WATERSCOURT 11 days ago

I have so far found no mention of why they'd distribute 364 WATERSCOURT cards and distribute them, individually, along with 10 BCY, or why there was a total of 1,500 created 11 days ago.

nothing, zip, nilch, nada on the official twitter, facebook, etc...

Only thing I can think of was an obscure twitter post about "daily rewards" being integrated in the beginning of May, but I've seen nothing in the App, nor any blog post explaining how said rewards were implemented...

I've participated in no events I know can think of, and the latest game achievement that could be relevant was fusing my 2nd blockchain card through the game (or maybe finally beating the Sia boss level for the first time?) , so I've got no further clues...

I just thought I'd share this mystery, as it's gotten it's teeth in me, and I cannot stop thinking about it every time I open the App 🕵️


Otherwise, I'm currently trying to blockchainize my Guardian of the Source of Life, and this mystery has made me read up a bit on the strategy of the game itself (which makes me regret crystallizing some of the more powerful cards to go faster... some of them had pretty powerful evolutions I was unaware of !)

And otherwise tomorrow I'll be trying to launch my first Ethereum Smart Contract through a mix of following a tutorial and honoring a joke with a friend.

See, I'm the "godfather" of a fellow student one year beneath me, and another student asked if she could have him because he helped a friend of hers create a superb logo for his online store.

I jokingly said she could have 50% of his actions, and that I expected him to be going to the moon in terms of value.

He joked back about now knowing he was a public company by himself, and I had the genius idea of creating an ERC20 token with an issuance of 100 using his name, and with a few ridiculous functions, and transfer half to the friend who wanted him in the first place.

He said that if I wanted to do it I had his permission...
😈


hey, @justatouchfey, you're the residing blockchain games expert, you know anything about this mystery perchance ?

Sort:  

Heh, I have no idea. XD I was on the edge of my seat reading this though. I play Spells of Genesis pretty regularly so I recognized the card from a promotion back in the day. So weird.

I sent off a tweet to the official Spells of Genesis twitter, and posted the question on their (incredibly inactive) reddit a few minutes before publishing this post, so I hope we can get an answer soon XD

Let me know if you hear anything! I'm super curious now.

Looks like still no answer I guess. Jump on their telegram. Community manager Yzia very active there. Good luck!

Oh, nah, I just forgot to update the post that's all 😅

Turns out it came from a survey we did.

If you're interested, there's a gleam giveaway for a couple 100$ worth of bitcrystals and a SoG Dragon card thats ending soon

Https://wn.nr/fZGbtg

Have you been playing SoG a lot ?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57806.13
ETH 2453.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36