You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Video Games; The Slowest Form Of Suicide

in #gaming7 years ago

Great discussion that I agree needs more attention. My brother and I used to spend days and nights nonstop playing videogames, especially once we figured out how to connect a LAN network and play together on our computers. Looking back, I believe we were very much addicted to it.

It really affected me in my relationships and in my early college years as well. I believe part of the reason my ex-fiance left me is that I spend so much time playing videogames rather than giving her the attention she deserved. Again, looking back, I probably was addicted and couldn't stop rather than thinking this was just to pass the time. I'm not saying its the main reason, but I can certainly see it as a part of the reasoning.

I spend countless hours on videogames in college as well and I do believe I could've been a much more impressive student had I spent that time studying and preparing for a future. Even in my later years of college life as I began to focus on my major, I spent a large amount of time in videogame world.

To this day I still spend probably far more time in videogames than I should, but I will be honest, it's just much easier to enjoy a game than deal with life's harsh realities and, I think, that's a big part of what gets people hooked.

Sort:  

Thank you so much for sharing man,
I can relate to a lot of what you're saying.
It's a very weird feeling you get when playing video games.
When you're playing, its almost like you're living in a care free world. No stress.

But, when you aren't playing and you look back on the time spent playing, for me at least, I feel regret.
Not to say that I haven't met great people playing video games and had amazing fun, but it's just a drastically opposing feeling I get when I think of the time I spend playing, as opposed to when I'm in the act of playing.

Thank you again for sharing!

While it can be bad, you're right, there's good to be had from it. I would argue there are far worse things to be addicted to.

Absolutely right about that one.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56006.20
ETH 2375.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33