My Playstation 3 Games of Childhood - Part 2

in #gaming6 years ago

I did the part 1 few days ago where I talked about some of  my favorite  PS3 games I have played in my childhood. I had more games in mind that I think needed mentioning so we get the second part.

As with part 1 I am talking about my experience I had playing these games more than the games themselves. Just want to make clear that I excluded some pretty common popular titles and specific games because I prefer them on PC like Oblivion, Skyrim, Fallout 3 and new Vegas and GTA 4 and 5 are probably the most notable ones. Please keep in mind that this list isn't in any particular order. 


Please note  all covers are taken from here and they're owned by their respective companies. 

Drivers San Francisco



I loved the original game in the series and out of all the most recent releases Driver San Francisco is the closest to the original you'll have. As you can imagine from the name this is a driving game which takes place in San Francisco. It's just fun and there are a lot of fully licensed cars you can drive around in and a lot of which aren't available for sale in the US which is kind of funny considering the game is set in San Francisco. You can also buy more cars with money you earn later on in the game. The engine sounds in the game are pretty good with a couple of exceptions though like the group B Audi doesn't sound anything like its real-life counterpart. My favorite thing to do in the game was to take an American car from the 60s or 70s and just rip around through the city as fast as possible while trying to avoid hitting things like cars or walls. The damaged models look great and because it's a game I didn't have to worry about smashing up the classic or running over people I guess.


Tomb Raider



I've been a fan of the Tomb Raider series since the beginning and having played the first three games when I was a kid this is certainly very much of a reinvention of the series and despite the many differences to what I remember from my childhood I think it's a very good game overall. As a lot of people mention every time the game feels really similar to the Uncharted games though there are some obvious differences as well. I like how Tomb Raider takes place on an island and there are instances where you react or places you've already been to. There were some creepy and disturbing elements in the game that I liked and the things like gunfights and platforming were a lot of fun though the QuickTime events were tedious and didn't contribute positively to the gameplay. There are things here and there I think that could be improved but the biggest problem with the game was the camera for me which moved around so much that it would make me motion sick sometimes but I think that could be fixed by changing my field of view.


Tekken Tag Tournament 2 



This is another fighting game I quite liked I have to say. I'm considerably worse at this game than I am in the King of Fighters. I really liked the crazy character designs of the game though I could only play one character well. The kind of music the game has is really good and everything runs at a smooth 60 frames per second which I guess is essential for any fighting game. I like when fighting games have a lot of variety in the gameplay that way there is always something to do if you get tired of one game-mode. I will mention that I probably would have put Dead or Alive 5 on the list as my favorite 3d fighter but I prefer that on a PC and on the current generation consoles.


 Disgaea d2



I always like me some Disgaea and I have not played a game in this series that I haven't enjoyed. If you don't know, Disgaea is a turn-based tactical RPG that goes very deep and the grind is real in this game. You are not only leveling up your characters but you also get to level up your items which require you to go through floors of randomly generated levels. You still get to do things after the storyline is done and the level cap of 999 isn't the end either. You can reincarnate your characters and keep leveling them up to make them even stronger. The reason I prefer d2 over to Disgaea three and four is because unlike Disgaea 3 it has HD sprites and unlike both of them it features the original cast of the first game and it's great to see the characters again on the screen rather than just a brief cameo appearance.


 Atelier Series



The Atelier series is pretty niche I would say but nevertheless has a very loyal following. The games are jrpgs with a strong emphasis on crafting and alchemy as well as exploration and gathering, of course, there are fights - but to me, that's not the appeal here. What I most like about these games is the relaxed nature of them there is a calm atmosphere about everything and the storyline isn't about something that may or may not end the world it's usually personal ambitions and goals which is a nice change from what you see in the fantasy game. Usually, each game has a different plot but the gameplay is mostly the same. The main character whether it be Rona or Maru are girls who want to become alchemists for one reason or another in order to do that they take on quests where you have to either kill certain monsters, gather specific materials or craft items. There is a time limit for each game and things like traveling between locations, for example, can take several days. Overall I just found the games very relaxing to play and that's what I like about them. Atelier Verona is the least good of the three games I think mainly because of the chibi style graphics. I liked Atelier Torian, Mara and Roo the best not only because of the art style but because of the expanded gameplay mechanics as well. 


Fifa Street


Couldn't find a ps3 cover

Sports games usually age pretty badly but Fifa Street is an older sports game worth playing even today. Fifa Street is more about tricks and skill moves, the number of players is less and the pitches are smaller. The graphics are pretty decent and it's relatively easy to pull off some cool tricks right from the start it's easy for developers to miss the mark completely when they try to look cool but I think they did a good job when it comes to nailing the vibe of street soccer here. There hasn't been a game like this since it was released which is a shame but that's also the reason why it's worth checking out.


 Okami HD



Another one of my favorite games of all time Okami HD is a remake and was originally made for the ps2 and later the Wii. While 3d Dot Game Heroes was a celebration of 2d Zelda games Okami takes its inspiration from 3d Zelda games. That being said the game has very much of its own thing. The game has a fantastic art style which looks like a Japanese watercolor painting and the story is based on Japanese mythology. You play as the Sun goddess in wolf form and together with your sidekick you try and save the land from the evil aura gee, I think that's how it's pronounced. You have got an overworld to explore and dungeons to beat but unlike Zelda where you get more and more items as you progress through the game, Okami gives you brush techniques. You can pause the game and draw whatever you need to which sounds like a tedious game mechanic but it's not at all because all you need to do is draw simple shapes like circles or lines. It's very context-specific so drawing a circle in the sky makes it a day while drawing one on the ground or some plants make them bloom. It's really well done I can't say enough good things about Okami it's not a difficult game but it doesn't need to be and it's an experience worth checking out.


Hyperdimension Neptunia victory



There are a lot of Neptunia games but the series first started on the ps3. The first game in the series in terms of gameplay wasn't that great but there was a lot of improvement done in the second and third installment of this series. If you're not familiar with the Neptunia series, its basically the main characters are goddesses who are personified versions of the game consoles. The plot of the game is always light-hearted and silly with a lot of meta-humor and there is a bit of fanservice here and there. The gameplay is pretty standard for turn-based JRPGs but the humor in the game, characters, and the sci-fi and fantasy hybrid setting sets it apart from other games of this genre. Neptunia victory along with the two that came before it have been remade for both the Vita and PC but if you have a ps3 I think it's still worth checking out victory since it's very similar to the remakes anyways and if your fan of Nepgear consider picking up mark 2 instead since the storyline features her instead of Neptune.


That concludes the list.

Hopefully, you enjoy taking a look at all these different games with me. There's a lot of variety on the list and hopefully, you found something new and interesting. 

Sort:  

Este Post ha recibido un Upvote desde la cuenta del King: @dineroconopcion, El cual es un Grupo de Soporte mantenido por 5 personas mas que quieren ayudarte a llegar hacer un Top Autor En Steemit sin tener que invertir en Steem Power. Te Gustaria Ser Parte De Este Projecto?

This Post has been Upvote from the King's Account: @dineroconopcion, It's a Support Group by 5 other people that want to help you be a Top Steemit Author without having to invest into Steem Power. Would You Like To Be Part of this Project?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64449.70
ETH 3164.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87