My Playstation 3 Games of Childhood

in #gaming6 years ago (edited)

This is more of Nostalgic post than the general Reviews I do. I'm talking about my experience I had playing these games more than the games themselves.

 Around seven years ago I got myself a PlayStation 3 in order to play a couple of console exclusives but before I knew it I started amassing more and more games for it partly because I was gifted some but mainly because I enjoyed using the console. So today I thought I would share some of my favorite ps3 games with you. I think I've got a pretty good mix of popular and obscure titles so hopefully, you'll find something interesting you've not heard of before. Before starting the list I just want to point out that I excluded some pretty common popular titles and specific games because I prefer them on PC like Oblivion, Skyrim, Fallout 3 and new Vegas and GTA 4 and 5 are probably the most notable ones. Please keep in mind that this list isn't in any particular order.

Red Dead Redemption


This is a pretty good one to start off with I think. Most people will know about this game already essentially it's a GTA game that's been reimagined in a western setting which is pretty awesome if you ask me but that's not the only reason why I like this game so much it's just that there's a distinct atmosphere throughout the game. The seemingly endless deserts, thick forests and forlorn towns along with the saturated color palette gives off a melancholy vibe that I just love and another thing that helps is the sound and the music. The area you get to explore is quite big especially if you consider that most modes of travel aren't particularly fast and even when just wandering around there are things happening like people being chased by the local wildlife, bandits terrorizing towns or people stealing horses so there's always something to do. If you don't like GTA type games I would still recommend checking out Red Dead Redemption since it's a very different experience overall. Multiplayer isn't bad either though I usually don't do the multiplayer thing in general. There is an expansion pack called 'undead nightmare with zombies' but I don't know what that's like since I don't have it but you can get a version of the game that comes with the undead nightmare so might as well pick that up if you can. There is also the second installment of game coming soon and for which has me very excited.

<iframe width="854" height="480" src="

" frameborder="0" gesture="media" allow="encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>

3D Dot Game Heroes



Not the best name ever but it's a very decent game. 3D Dot Game Heroes is a Zelda style adventure which combines 3-D graphics with traditional 2-D Zelda top-down gameplay and a ridiculous sword. Apparently in terms of gameplay it feels like a cross between the first Legend of Zelda and Link to the Past. The map, Castle and the towns gives off a Link to the Past feel but the dungeons are much more reminiscent of the original Zelda on the NES. I really liked how over the top they went with the water reflections and things like that which makes it kind of a funny. The game isn't ashamed of being a Zelda clone and is fun throughout. You can pick what your hero looks like or even make your own from scratch. Even though the sword is huge it's only like that if your health is actually full so it's kind of comparable to the sword shooting thing in the original Zelda. Definitely a lot of fun and worth checking out if you like this elegance.

<iframe width="854" height="480" src="

" frameborder="0" gesture="media" allow="encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Valkyria chronicles



I try to mention this game whenever I can because it's one of my favorites even though this game was re-released on the PC and ps4 with higher resolution and better performance the ps3 version of Valkyria chronicles still runs well and looks pretty good. It's an alternate reality world war 2 strategy RPG with third-person realtime elements combined with watercolor painting and anime aesthetics which on paper sounds a bit like a collision of many different things but it certainly doesn't feel like it once you play it or look at it. You control different types of units and select which ones you want to control from an overhead view and once you select one it switches to third-person mode where it becomes real time except for aiming. There are a lot of missions you can play and a lot of characters you can choose to have in your squad most of whom can die permanently if you aren't careful. I really like the story to it the whole your side is good and the other side is bad nonsense and the game explores many themes and topics a lot of war games prefer not to touch.

<iframe width="854" height="480" src="

" frameborder="0" gesture="media" allow="encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Uncharted 2 and 3



Here is another popular franchise, the only reason I didn't mention the first uncharted is because I don't own it but I'm sure it's just as good I mean I played the demo and I didn't really notice any anything too different except for the graphics. Uncharted is a linear 3-D platformer and I don't really have a problem with it being like that at all. I like that you often get the option of doing things in a more stealthy way or you can just run in and shoot everything. The graphics are pretty awesome and make full use of the hardware. I found the gunfights to be very fun and challenging at times and the platforming elements are well done although usually simple. The best part about the Uncharted games is that it never gets frustrating the dialogue is pretty cheesy and some things like rickety bits of the environment making a noise or crumbling away when you walk over them are really predictable. I like to call that environment jump-scare and it's like in a horror movie or game you can sometimes predict a jump-scare but you never know at what exact second it will happen.

<iframe width="854" height="480" src="

" frameborder="0" gesture="media" allow="encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>

King of Fighters 13 



Here is another game I really like and which is also there for the PC and it doesn't really matter which version you choose though since both feel and play the same. KOF 13 is my favorite fighting game and has very smooth gameplay mechanics that are easy to learn but hard to master. The game has a good amount of varied fighters to choose from and really awesome 2-D visuals with great animations. If I want to play a fighting game I usually just play KOF 13 on PC. I might do the review of this game for steemit in coming days or you can check out  videos or reviews from people unlike me who know how to play fighting games properly. 

<iframe width="854" height="480" src="

" frameborder="0" gesture="media" allow="encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>


 So these above where some of the games I really liked to play. I liked a lot more PS3 games but these were some of favorites. Thanks for reading up to here, I hope you had a good time reading this post. There maybe a Part 2 if people like this kind of post.

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @naysayer to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Just played Heavy Rain a few weeks ago for the first time. That was a very good game!

Aw man never played heavy rain but I was thinking of picking up the ps4 version.

It's not an action game by any means, but the story line is good with lots of plot twists, and there are about 8 different endings depending on how well you do. It'll take you 2 or 3 days to complete the first time but it definitely has the replayability factor.

Sounds fun! I do like such games as long as the story is good. Will pick up Heavy rain and Beyond two souls copy soon.
Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30