Magic: The Investment Vehicle - Part 1

in #gaming7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians! For those of you who don't follow me yet, I'm Missy, and I'm a Magic: the Gathering content producer. This is the first installment of a multi-part series about the secondary financial market for Magic cards. I won't go too in-depth in the articles, as they're intended to be a layman-friendly primer on the topic, but I welcome discussion, debate, and critiques in the comments!

A Brief Introduction to Magic the Gathering
...and why there's a secondary market

Magic: the Gathering is the original collectible trading card game, designed in the early 90's by Richard Garfield and published by Wizards of the Coast (creators of Dungeons n Dragons). Fast forward 24 years, and Wizards of the Coast is a subsidiary of publicly traded toy mogul Hasbro, with Magic consistently showing growth in quarterly earnings reports.

In the 2 decades since the inception of Magic: the Gathering (M:tG), we've seen many fads come and go in the collectibles market--Beanie Babies and Webkinz, for example--and the rise (and sometimes fall) of trading card games like Pokémon and Yugioh. Collectibles are notoriously risky and volatile investments, yet Magic cards have managed to become a reliable way for many Magic players to subsidize their hobby (at the very least), and in some cases, generate a lucrative income (aka pay their bills) by speculating on cards.

What sets M:tG apart from other collectible industries? In a nutshell, excellent management of the Magic: the Gathering brand by Wizards of the Coast (WotC). To maintain interest in the game (and preserve the financial value of players' card collections), WotC created a multi-level play experience. The vast majority of Magic players are casual or "kitchen table Planeswalkers", meaning that most of their play is at home with friends and family. The next level of involvement is local game store organized play. WotC sponsors a variety of events through their network of independent retailers (local game stores or LGS) that promote their products while building a local network of players who in turn drive excitement for the cards and new products. Once a player has mastered the game, WotC has an international Pro Tour where, similar to the World Series of Poker, the best players in the world compete for their share of impressive prize pools.

By appealing to players at all levels and actively working to grow and diversify their customer base, Wizards of the Coast has not only created an enjoyable pastime, but a unique, thriving secondary market that allows players to generate an income while doing something they love.

Follow me @mtgmisfit for future installments...
Next up: why I started flipping and speculating cards

Thanks in advance for the upvotes and follows!

 --Missy
Sort:  

Ohhhhhhh! Another MTG nerd! Followed @mtgmisfit!

Awesome! I was already following you :)

Missy how long have u played MtG?

I played from 95-97, then picked it back up during core set 2015. Apparently, you never actually quit playing magic...you just take extended breaks lol.

trading card games are great, lots of fun gameplay and money to be made

It's great to have a hobby that can pay for itself, but I'd probably still play Magic to some extent even if the cards weren't collectible. The game is amazing in its own right.

I actually thought your blog was going to talk about the online version of the game, but it seems you're talking about the physical trading cards, right?

Out of curiousity, are the early edition cards more valuable? I played a long time ago, like close to the beginning. Sadly not many alpha and beta cards, but I have a lot of 3rd and 4th edition cards and some early expansions like chronicles and iceage.

While I don't play Magic Online, there are people who speculate on the digital card market. As for your cards...just depends on what you have. You can use the www.mtgprice.com website to see what the best buylist price is for every card in every set, which I have found the most convenient way to evaluate collections quickly.

Have you thought about getting back into the game? I played when I was a teenager and picked it up again as an adult...somehow it seems more fun in my mid-30's?

It's not that it's not fun anymore - I still love the game, but the groups of friends have gotten smaller. Back in the day we used to have massive 8-player multiplayer games (yeah it's totally unbalanced but it's great fun)

But still, every few years we dust off the cards, buy a few expansion packs and spend 5 hours trying to make decks and figure out the new rules, then about an hour of playing.

Except for at summer camp in the mid-90's, all of my Magic playing has been at local game stores. I only have one friend who plays, and he lives in a different state. I've always been a bit socially awkward, and I cope with anxiety and PTSD, so playing organized Magic has been a way for me to work through those issues while doing something I enjoy.

But as for those chaotic multi-player games...I remember them fondly from my childhood. Talk about the good old days!

it's a crazy market for sure. Have to stay up on news daily and prices can fluctuate a lot. A lot of fake cards out there as well which is a shame.

I just bought a vintage collection and the fakes issue was a huge stressor for me. Actually working on a piece about that, too!

Congratulations @mtgmisfit! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Notifications have been disabled. Sorry if I bothered you.
To reactivate notifications, drop me a comment with the word NOTIFY

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67416.66
ETH 3475.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67