You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Magic: The Investment Vehicle - Part 1

in #gaming7 years ago

I actually thought your blog was going to talk about the online version of the game, but it seems you're talking about the physical trading cards, right?

Out of curiousity, are the early edition cards more valuable? I played a long time ago, like close to the beginning. Sadly not many alpha and beta cards, but I have a lot of 3rd and 4th edition cards and some early expansions like chronicles and iceage.

Sort:  

While I don't play Magic Online, there are people who speculate on the digital card market. As for your cards...just depends on what you have. You can use the www.mtgprice.com website to see what the best buylist price is for every card in every set, which I have found the most convenient way to evaluate collections quickly.

Have you thought about getting back into the game? I played when I was a teenager and picked it up again as an adult...somehow it seems more fun in my mid-30's?

It's not that it's not fun anymore - I still love the game, but the groups of friends have gotten smaller. Back in the day we used to have massive 8-player multiplayer games (yeah it's totally unbalanced but it's great fun)

But still, every few years we dust off the cards, buy a few expansion packs and spend 5 hours trying to make decks and figure out the new rules, then about an hour of playing.

Except for at summer camp in the mid-90's, all of my Magic playing has been at local game stores. I only have one friend who plays, and he lives in a different state. I've always been a bit socially awkward, and I cope with anxiety and PTSD, so playing organized Magic has been a way for me to work through those issues while doing something I enjoy.

But as for those chaotic multi-player games...I remember them fondly from my childhood. Talk about the good old days!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67275.57
ETH 3480.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67