The Settlers Gaming Series pt. 2

in #gaming7 years ago



There is something about German ingenuity when it comes to the strategy games, two long lasting and very popular German gaming franchises are Anno and Settlers, and for me personally those are one of the best strategy series of all times. Settlers are now more than 24 years old when the first game was released back in 1993. Settlers games are all about small workers building and expanding your city and your goal as a ruler is to provide them with buildings and resources. Over the years the core concept hasn't changed much, it is all about building and relaxing. It is a very charming gaming series from Blue Byte worth checking out. In pt. 2 I will talk about modern games in the series.



The Settlers: Heritage of Kings


Fifth game in the series went through another facelift in 2005, this time game was played in full 3D, and as always that removes all the charm previous 2D games had. Sometimes great looking hand drawn 2D graphics sits the best with these kind of games. Developers, however, need to continue with the graphic improvements and trends to stay relative, it is a slippery slope, the graphics in this type of games. Everything else is essentially the same with settlement building and army recruitment with some improvements to speed up games. It was a downgrade from previous two games in my opinion.



The Settlers: Rise of an Empire


In 2007 the 6th game in the series was released and it continued with the path set by the previous games. Some new elements are introduced like weather change that would have a real effect on crops and resources. Knight units are also introduced and they offer various different abilities and can complete quests, there are 6 knights to chose from. Not enough to make the game great. 



The Settlers 7: Paths to a Kingdom


Seventh installment from 2010 returned to more cartoon like art style and that made game feel like the Settlers game again, but not enough to make it a great Settlers game. There are three paths to victory in this game and you could win by going with economic, military or science victory. Each path of development has unique units and possibilities and players win by gathering victory points through any path they have chosen. But, as always in Settlers games, fine tuned economy and road system are the keys to victory.



The Settlers Online


We are living in a time of online browser games and it is not a big of surprise to see Settlers move and explore that genre of games. It is free to play with some buy options to speed building time and resource gathering. It's a slow pace game that can last for months, considering it is a browser game. It is not for everyone's tastes, but the game community is actually growing because game offers an excellent user experience and fine crafted eye pleasing 2D graphics. 



#gaming

Sort:  

Settlers used to be fun. I don't know when but the magic that I felt when I played the original settlers 2 (not anniversary) faded over time.

I think Rise of an Empire was the last one I truly enjoyed. In later years I believe there were better alternatives, like Anno and Banished.

Followed

Please consider supporting me..

https://steemit.com/gaming/@dracosalieri/creative-assembly-why-dost-thou-bestray-me

I liked the third one the best, every game is almost the same, but that third one was special. Quality gaming content will get my vote, if I don't miss it.

Yeah, it was a good one, but my memory of Settlers 2 is stronger as it was the first Settlers title I played. I was 5 when it released and my father taught me how to play.

If you liked settler 2, get widelands which I linked in the first post.

Are you playing Settlers Online ?
Let's clan up :)

Not yet, I was getting hots for it when I started writing about this series. Just now browsing on the site :) I'll be in touch.

Building a tavern :)

I've loved this series for the most part. I'm playing Settlers 7: Paths to a Kingdom most recently.

Yeah, not every game in the series was great. Some are crazy good.

Nice game. I will try it :)

The Settlers 7: Paths to a Kingdom The graphics are better and the building are beautiful .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67685.37
ETH 3498.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71