Inquisitor Martyr Early Access Impressions

in #gaming7 years ago (edited)

1.jpg

I'm not a huge fan of early access games, but at the same time I'm a huge fan of Warhammer 40.000 universe and Action Role Playing Games. Inquisitor Martyr is a first ARPG in Warhammer 40k universe, I wanted to see this type of game for a long time now, and it is finally here in early access on Steam. I want to see this game as good as it can be that is why I joined the game early, developers need that extra money boost to finish the game properly.

2.jpg

3.jpg

In this game the players take the role of an Inquisitor, an Imperium of Man badass capable of using high tech weaponry and psychic powers to unleash all sorts of pain to the heretics, aliens and mutants of an insane Warhammer 40k universe.

There are three classes to chose from, every class also has three subclasses. Crusader is a tank character capable of soaking a lot of damage, Death Cult Assassin is a long range sniper, Psyker is essentially a mage of the group. Unlike many classical ARPGs the progression system and skill usage is very different, you can use several skills depending of weapon of choice, only one fully customizable character is a Psyker because he can use three different schools of psychic abilities.

4.jpg

5.jpg

There are many types of weaponry in the game and as you gain levels more abilities for those weapons will unlock. All sorts of goodies will be at your disposal like plasma guns, laspistols, grenade launchers, snipers, all those weapons will dispose your enemies in spectacularly gory ways. Players can also equip and improve their characters with standard ARPG loot. The loot system in place is typical ARPG system where you pick up better gear, customize, craft and use those items to kill your enemies more efficiently. I will not go too deep into the game's systems because everything is susceptible to change when the full game releases.

Game also uses more tactical approach where you will need to use cover and finite tactical options like void shields, grenades and medpacs. While exploring the levels you will find medical and supply chests that will increase the number of uses for those items. I really like this tactical system not seen in ARPGs before, You will have to use every tool at your disposal tactically in order to beat the game. That tactical approach to the gameplay will need some time to get used to. Game will feel slow and clunky to every ARPG veteran who is used to fast paced gameplay of Diablo 3 and Path of Exile, maybe devs will need to tweak that more to speed the combat a little bit.

6.jpg

7.jpg

Graphics look great and the whole overall futuristic gothic atmosphere of WH40k is present. The game is in early alpha stage and while most of the systems are in place there is still so much work to be done like the story chapters, improved game stability and performance, UI tweaks. Once they implement all those missing features Inquisitor Martyr will be a game to look out for later in 2018.

Sort:  

looking forward to it, because the Warhammer IP was sold to many studios and to be honest, it was brilliant idea, almost every new warhammer game was good so far!

I'm a huge fan of Warhammer 40k IP, specially of Dawn of War series. I probably played most of WH40k games out there, and this one shows a lot of potential. Right now it is only for WH40k fanatics like me though :)

my colleague is a huge fan too, he even paints action figures :D so i know almost everything about WH40k from him too, he talks about it all the time. I wouldn't be supriced if he plays this game :D

Hehe I have a similar friend:)

It looks sweet! I like the tactical part, I feel like more ARPGs should move in that direction. Alas I'm not a huge Warhammer fan (I'm currently playing the first pen & paper version of Warhammer fantasy with a group of friends, but I don't know much about the 40k lore) so I'll probably wait for this to be finished, as I'm not really into early access games either. But thanks for advertising this, I'll definitely keep an eye on the development of this one!

My friend works in Croteam and he told me they are working on Serious Sam 4 I don't know if that game is released already.
Make review on it I would like to see that :)
The game from my primary school period :)

Most definitely I will review it once it comes out :)

I am not a Warhammer fan, but I could give it a try. Elex was playable not bad at all, but it should be a little better.

It is bloody, a lot of loot, great graphics. Wait for the full release then try it.

Tactical real-time? Or somewhat similar to Dragon Age Inquisitor? Anyways bring out yer dakka! Wish you could play as Greenskins...Oh well hummies were my second choice anyway. Good read didn't even know there was another one 40k incoming. So much early access to look out for. So thanks much!

I like your post friend👍

this game look like one hell of a badass game from your review. will go look for it and check it out

Wow nice game I am going to try it thanks for sharing @moon32walker

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63707.00
ETH 2746.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64