Gaming Retrospective - Rise of Nations

in #gaming7 years ago



Title of one of the most inspiring RTS games can be given to Rise of Nations. It's a game from 2003 developed by Big Huge Games that has risen and surprised everyone for it's deep strategic gameplay. Rise of Nations unlike it's fantasy cousin Rise of Legends took more traditional approach like Age of Empires, Civilization and Empire Earth games did. Strategy at it's best. Advance through ages with your nation from ancient age up to information age, from bows and arrows to nukes, isn't progress swell. 




This game is all about expanding your influence over the battlegrounds and acquire every resource available, those are the keys to victory in Rise of Nations. Nothing like crushing your opponent with gunpowder weapons while they are still using swords and spears. Attrition is another key element in this game, for example if you upgrade attrition every enemy entering inside your borders without your permission would suffer damage and slowly die. Each of 18 nations have their own unique units that add replayability to the game, every time you play a skirmish map you can discover something new. If you like building up your civilization and beat your enemies through war and attrition this game might be good for you. 




#gaming

Sort:  

What a rad looking game, like Age of Empires on steroids, thanks for a cool post!

Yeah, it was and still is one of the best PC strategy games.

do a review on the C&C franchise next! definintely my all time favourite RTS from when i was a kid. in red alert, i would mass up units and destroy my enemies while playing the tune of "hell march".

Great post! I remember having my mind blown by this game! I had been hooked on Age of Empires but when this came out, the level of progression you could work through was addictive. From throwing rocks to launching nukes; not many other games could claim that until recently.

Please tell me which ones. Rise of Nations is still my best strategy game till date.

Looks sweet. Can definitely see that modern RTS games were inspired by this game.

Ahhhh, this takes me back, thanks

Good game, thank for sharing !

Oh yeah, for some reason I always liked this one better then AoE. Not really know why, but it just resonated with me better!

Great post ! Would you mind if I included it in todays "best of gaming"?

I missed this comment, played Diablo 3 Necromancer for the whole day :) You can post it without asking me, and btw what happened with the trail votes these days?

This game looks amazing for 2003. How did I miss this?! I must have been on the Age of Empire hypetrain. Still, I have an old school computer to play games like these from time to time. Gonna check it out :D

This is one of my best games of all time. I still play it every other day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63707.00
ETH 2746.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64