You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Bad and the Good of Cheating in Video Game

in #gaming7 years ago

I wholly agree with you, I feel like cheating takes the fun out of the game (and the experience) if you're doing it just to have an easier time. Although I do admit, sometimes some games do have quite difficult areas that cheating may aid especially if it's stopping progression or taking the fun out of the experience. But if you're doing it just to have an easier time I feel it's also disrespectful to the developers etc. because they worked hard to make the game the way it is.
I also find cheat codes quite fun to use after I've finished the game, as it gives me something new to do and enhances the experience.
If someone is cheating in a multiplayer game such as Star Wars Battlefront or LoL, I really feel that strong measures should be taken against them because they are ruining the experience for everyone else and it's highly disrespectful. Great post!

Sort:  

Thank you!
For me I usually avoid using cheat to aid in difficult areas to see if I'm good enough to be able to beat it. Beating that difficult levels in game is one of the best feeling from playing game.
And for the extra fun after I finished the game I usually go to mods over cheat, but I did use cheat sometimes. My favorite thing to do with cheat is creating massive battle in Skyrim or Fallout.

A really interesting article.
When you agree to play a game – any game – you enter into a contract with other players. The game isn't important -the contract is. It's representative of competition within set parameters, which allows for the participants to, hone and show off there skills, to other competitors – An ancient, ritualistic, safe environment for fighting , if you will.
Breaking of the contract (cheating) shows a disregard for entering into the contract, in the first place.
This is sociopathic behavior.
I think computer gaming attracts a much higher than average number of sociopaths. ( around the 2% mark, in society, as a whole)
If you think about it, it makes perfect sense – a no risk, no effort environment, to screw over fellow human beings. ( sociopaths are notoriously lazy via vis input, for result)
It's a kind of sociopathic heaven !

My 'career' in computer gaming finished a long time ago- 'ghost recon', and 'total war -empire'- .
(I was always been a tabletop wargamer and one of the reasons I just joined steemit, actually).

I see the level of respect shown in both genre's. (I mean with respect to 'the contract of the game'.)
With tabletop wargameing (or board games), there is a 'reverence' to the contract, and seen as something valuable, not something to get around, in order to beat your opponent.

And thus, deeply more satisfying, (in my opinion.)
Due, I think, mainly, to the effort you actually have to put into it, to have the wargame. - There is 'effort' involved – a real commitment.
The analogy of ordering a burger and fries, at a drive through, and a sitting down in a French restaurant, with an 'a la carte 'menu, is very apt.
If you have never experienced the difference, it can only be an abstract concept, unfortunately.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63062.73
ETH 2687.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54